A plain white tee goes day to night.

My love of basics is never ending and I can never have enough plain white tees (I devoted another blog post to them here). The last time I was at (you guessed it) Target, I picked up two of these Mossimo V-neck tees, one white and one in a blush pink. You know I like something if I buy it in multiples. It has that perfect relaxed fit I love and has that ‘burnout’ effect where it’s slightly sheer (don’t worry, it’s minimal you won’t be flashing your bra to the world). And at $12, I’d say it’s not a bad deal. I wore it the day after I got it and wanted to share how I’d take it from day to night.

L: daytime; M: the base; R: nighttime

I started by pairing the tee with dark denim, I got these skinny jeansΒ from Forever 21 awhile back. For day I threw on a chambray shirt, also an oldie but a goodie from Forever 21,Β and my slide-on sneakers from Zara. I thought my LV tote paired well with the overall casual look of the outfit.

For night, I swapped the chambray for a black kimono top with rose printΒ from H&M. I added a long black circle pendant neck from Jewelmint, I liked how it somehow elongated the look. This was a good thing because instead of heels, I went with red pointed toe flats with studding on the straps. I actually love flats for nights out where I know I’ll be on my feet a lot. These shoes are also Zara. Lastly, I stuck with my black Tory Burch envelope clutch-I didn’t want anything else to compete with the print of the kimono and my red shoes.

When thinking about what to wear for a night out, a plain white tee is probably not the first item in your closet to come to mind, but I think it’s the perfect base for any outfit, day or night.

What’s your take on a plain white tee? Just for day or nighttime appropriate?

38 thoughts on “A plain white tee goes day to night.

  1. I love a plain white tee, I would wear both these outfits πŸ™‚ I struggle to find a tee that fits just right I’ll have to look in Target the next time I’m in the State’s.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! I spray mine with shoe protectant, but I do only wear them when I know it’s not going to rain or snow! I’ll check when I get the chance and let you know!

      Like

  2. A plain white tee is such a staple. I learned that last year when I finally found a few tshirts I actually loved! It’s true that it is so versatile for day or night. It just depends on the accessories you surround it with!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow, you’re the most prolific blogger I know! 3 posts in a day!
    I love plain tops but I don’t do white too often because I always get them stained somehow with food… I prefer greys and darker colours. I’m like you too, though, if I like a cut of something, I’ll buy multiples in all the colours available!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Confessions of a Beauty Blogger Tag | Always, Bree

  5. Pingback: Closet Staples Series: Tops | Always, Bree

Leave a Reply

