Maybelline Age Rewind Concealer in Neutralizer Review

IMG_0998

Concealer is one makeup item I can’t resist. I know my under eyes circles aren’t that bad, I think ever since becoming a mom I notice them so much more. And because in the beginning I was eternally tired and they were much worse. Now, I have become fixated on them and there’s no turning back.

I love the Maybelline Instant Age Rewind Eraser Dark Circle Concealer in Medium, I haven’t used it lately because like I said, I’m a concealer fiend and I keep buying new ones to try. I decided to pick up the same product in Neutralizer, which is supposed to be used under your regular concealer for extreme darkness.

IMG_1003

L: Maybelline Dark Circle Eraser in Neutralizer; R: Neutralizer swatched alongside Medium

The product comes in the same twist up tube with a round felt applicator that dispenses the product. It also has the same light consistency as the regular concealer. It is a pale yellow shade, which is supposed to help cancel out any blue tones that create the darkness in that area.

IMG_0904

From the top: no concealer; Neutralizer applied just in area near inner corners; with Medium blended on top; with the rest of my eye makeup applied

I apply it with the applicator just to the area near the inner corners if my eye then use my fingers to blend it in. Then I used Medium, applying in a ‘V’ shape under my eye, then again blending with my fingers.

I actually do think this product helps to lessen the darkness under my eyes, although it’s not completely erased, it is toned down. These concealers are so light that layering them this way doesn’t make them look cakey. I do set the area with Incandescent Light from my Hourglass Ambient Lighting Palette as well.

Overall, I do like this product and will continue to use it. I probably won’t repurchase because there are other products I want to try, like the Bobbi Brown corrector, but I’m happy to incorporate this into my routine in the meantime. I’m just not sure if it’s the right product for me, I’ve tried the Eve Pearl corrector, but I think I got it in a shade too dark for my skin tone.

Do you have any recommendations for correcting concealers?

17 thoughts on “Maybelline Age Rewind Concealer in Neutralizer Review

    • Haha I know I think I just tend to zero in on them, like. They are all I can see. It does look like they vanish, I think the lighting helped to make it even better, but I’m still looking for something even better! See how I can never be satisfied?!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Pingback: Current favorites: June 2015 | Always, Bree

Leave a Reply

