Current obsession: A subtle gold smoke + romantic lashes

I’ve been obsessed with doing a subtle gold smokey eye with dark fluttery lashes for some time now. I’m almost surprised that I’ve veered away from the cat eye because I was so devoted to it for the past couple of years, but I’m favoring just tight lining my upper and lower waterline with brown liner much more lately. I actually used to never tightline my lower lash line because I felt like it closed my eyes off too much, but with brown liner it’s much less severe. And again I’ve been hitting the individual lashes hard with just a few places at the outer lash line for that soft, wispy effect. I decided to put away the new makeup today and break out some old faves.

Swatches L to R: MAC Woodwinked, Twinks, Soft Brown, Brule; NYX blush in Pinched; Rimmel Kate Lipstick in 08

I used all MAC eye shadows today. I swept Woodwinked all over my lid to the crease, blended with Soft Brown, and highlighted my browbone with Brûlée. I ran Twinks across my upper lashine line to give it a subtle smokey effect. I also used a mix of Woodwinked and Twinks on my lower lash line. Then I used the L’Oreal Extra-Intense Liquid Liner Pencil in Brown on my upper & lower waterline and finished with a couple coats of the L’Oreal Telescopic Shocking Extensions Waterproof Mascara and four short Ardell individual lashes at the outer corners of my eyes.

On my cheeks I used my NYX Powder Blush in Pinched, which is a nice pinky coral with a gold shimmer, and the Rimmel by Kate Lipstick in 08, a pinky nude. It’s actually a perfect, everyday nude and ‘my lips but better shade’ for me. I was reminded of it when Fang of Makeup Retreat posted it about it today and she made it look so good I had to dig mine out!

I’ll always have love for the cat eye, but I’m liking this more understated look for now and since it takes much less time it works much better for my mom schedule.

On Sunday, we’re headed to a mall that’s a little further from us to hit Pottery Barn Kids. Ava has taken to this stuffed bunny for the past two months and it has become her ‘lovey’. Like if she can’t find it she’s running around the house screaming trying to find it. And we have to bring it everywhere or else. It’s actually quite cute how taken she is with it, but naturally like any mom, I’m deadly afraid that it will get lost and we’ll be without it. And it’s gotten to the point where it needs to be washed like a week ago. I’d ordered two backups from their website, but when they arrived they were too big (I got the medium, but it’s actually the small size).  So we decided to just go to the store and exchange them. This mall also had a freestanding MAC store so I want to stop in and get a couple more eye shadows to fill my palette. I’ve already decided on Satin Taupe after reading about it on stash matters, but if you have other recommendations, please share them so I can check them out while I’m there!

19 thoughts on “Current obsession: A subtle gold smoke + romantic lashes

  1. This look is so fresh! You look youthful and well-rested!
    Not sure if you own Patina, but it’s also a great no-brainer shade, give it a swatch when you’re at the MAC counter.
    And, aww, that’s such a “mom” thing to do, buy back ups of stuffed toys!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Rimmels lipsticks have always been my favourite 🙂 whilst we we’re away I bought a mac lipstick and I’m really disappointed with it after reading all the great things about them! Mac eyeshadows looks lovely though 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

