My concealer + powder foundation routine featuring Cle de Peau.

When I did the Seven Deadly Sin of Beauty Tag, I mentioned that the Cle de Peau Beautè concealer was my most expensive beauty product. I wanted to feature it in a post to explain why I love it much. I know it’s pricey at $70 a pop, but it’s just so good I almost wish I didn’t try it because I see myself purchasing it again and again. I actually did a post on it when I first got it, but I wanted to update my thoughts since then.

Swatches: top is the Cle de Peau concealer in Ochre, bottom is the MAC Mineralized Skinfinish Natural in Medium Plus

Like I mentioned before, this concealer comes in stick form in a twist up tube. The packaging is simple and sleek, when you close it you’ll feel it click so you know it’s covered tightly and the product won’t dry out. Despite being a stick concealer, it isn’t thick and cakey in the slightest. It’s surprisingly light in texture for a stick product allowing you to layer the product to achieve the coverage you desire. You can use your fingers to apply this, but I’ve actually found that I prefer using a fluffy blending brush, like the MAC 217. I swipe the brush over the product then lightly buff it on any blemishes, redness around my nose, and undereyes. The coverage is amazing and it blends like a dream. It doesn’t the accentuate fine lines under my eyes either. The lasts well throughout the day and it looks seamless.

L: bare face; R: After concealing with Cle de Peau

Part of the reason this product works so well for me is that the shade I have, Ocher, is such a great match for my skin tone since there is some olive in it. It works for my undereyes and the rest of my face. I do still add a little bit of a highlighter for my undereyes when I want a brightening effect, but it covers my under eye darkness very well. The brand has added more shades, I think there are six available at the moment, but obviously it’s still very limited. I like using this with powder foundation because the coverage is so good. The one I’m using most lately is the MAC Mineralized Skinfinish Natural in Medium Plus. I use a fluffy powder brush to buff it all over my face, you don’t really need any heavy coverage after using this concealer and lately, I prefer just a light layer of powder foundation instead of the heavier coverage of a kabuki brush.

Just the CDP concealer and the MAC MSF as the base to the rest of my makeup.

I am a concealer addict, so despite this being so good, I still can’t help but purchase others. I think the kicker for this one is the shade match. The Nars Creamy Concealer comes in second in terms of my love for it, but I actually have it in two shades because I don’t have a perfect color match from that line. So yes, I still think it’s worth the hype. I bought mine blind from Nordstrom after reading several reviews and looking at swatches, reading the review from The Beauty Look Book really convinced me to just go for it. But if you’re on the fence I would head to a counter if possible to check it out before making such an expensive purchase.

Have you tried the Cle de Peau concealer yet? What were your thoughts?

6 thoughts on “My concealer + powder foundation routine featuring Cle de Peau.

Leave a Reply

