Lipstick love: A review of the Maybelline Color Sensational Creamy Matte Lipcolor in Touch of Spice

I was reading a post from MVRZ in which she shares four of her favorite lipsticks. Because 2/4 of them were also favorites of mine (Maybelline’s Warm Me Up and NYX’s Thalia), I decided to try one of her other faves, Touch of Spice, from the Maybelline Color Sensational Creamy Matte line. I’m pretty late with these because when I went to pick some up during the initial release, the display was well picked over already and none of the colors appealed to me.

Maybelline Color Sensational Creamy Matte Lipstick in Touch of Spice

The lipstick comes in the usual Color Sensational packaging except it has a dark purple frosted cover. It only took one swipe to get a nice even swatch on my forearm. The color is a dusty brownish red, the kind of color I love in the fall/winter.

The lipstick applies amazingly well, super smooth and opaque in one swipe. This is what I was expecting from the NYX High Voltage Lipsticks. It doesn’t emphasize any dry spots on my lips. It also has a kind of plush feel when I press my lips together and feels comfortable, not dry at all. After eating lunch, there was only some fading towards the center of my lips. I reapplied at that point and went about my day. The lasting power was quite good, there was minimal fading throughout the day and it didn’t transfer much on my water glass.

On initial application & after six hours with one touch up.

All in all, I love this lipstick. The formula is just what I love from a matte lipstick. It’s opaque, smooth on application, and not drying. No need for lip liner here. I’m going to have to get more of these. ASAP.

What do you think of the Maybelline Color Sensational Creamy Matte Lipsticks? 

18 thoughts on “Lipstick love: A review of the Maybelline Color Sensational Creamy Matte Lipcolor in Touch of Spice

    • Haha yes, I was really pleased with this one! I wish I found it earlier in the fall, I’m so in spring mode now I’m more into nudes and pinks. But it will def get lots of use this coming fall 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I love Maybellines lines of matte lipstick, especially since they have such a creamy consistency. It’s not drying like other matte lipsticks! I’m so glad you loved this Bree! Hope you review more 😘

    Liked by 1 person

    • No taste I think there is a very light scent but nothing even enough for me to notice. I think it’s like a sweet powdery scent from what I remember. I don’t usually notice scents unless they’re strong.

      Like

Leave a Reply

