A beauty mini quickie: Dr. Brandt Microdermabrasion Skin Exfoliant

I use the Tata Harper Regenerating Cleanser every morning, it’s a gentle daily exfoliator that’s not at all harsh on my skin. I still think it’s important to use a stronger exfoliant on a weekly basis, but I haven’t really been consistent with it. I got the Dr. Brandt Microdermabrasion Skin Exfoliant in my skincare sample bag from Sephora and finally put it to the test this week.

According to the brand (taken from the Sephora website):

“Get a youthful glow with this microdermabrasion treatment and earn results parallel to a professional, clinical visit. This formula contains pharmaceutical-grade crystals, lactic acid, and soothing botanicals to polish away dead skin cells, provide a radiant, healthy look, and smooth skin’s texture. Watch as the appearance of fine lines, acne marks, and skin discolorations diminish as you achieve maximum results in minimal time.”

The instructions say to massage this into damp skin for 1-2 minutes, avoiding the eye area, then rinse with warm water. It can be used 1-2 times per week, leaving 3 days between applications.

The product comes out of the tube as a white cream and has a lemony scent. I’m not going to lie, when I first started rubbing it onto my face I thought it felt like tiny shards of glass scratching my face. I’ve never used an exfoliator that felt that way. I’m not trying to say it was painful, but the exfoliating particles feel more sharp than any I’ve ever used. Usually it feels more like a fine sand. It wasn’t really that bothersome to me, but you definitely want to massage this gently over your face. After I rinsed with warm water, my skin did look slightly pink from the exfoliating action, but it faded by the time I applied my makeup (probably 10 or 15 minutes later). It also felt super smooth and soft. You don’t need a lot of this either, the amount in the photo was enough for my entire face.

I’ve used this twice over the past two weeks and while I can’t say my acne scars have been effected much, I will say the fine lines around my mouth have faded. I looked for them this morning aren’t as noticeable as before. I was really surprised. I did concentrate on the areas I do have fine lines, around my mouth and between my brows and this has actually helped to reduce them! I have to emphasize that these lines were very fine, not very noticeable unless on close inspection. If you have any deeper lines I can’t say how they’d fare. I’m going to keep using it weekly and if my acne scarring is significantly reduced I will update.

Pros:

  • pleasant scent
  • effective on fine lines
  • leaves skin feeling soft and smooth

Cons:

  • may be too abrasive for sensitive skin
  • expensive! $78 for 2 oz.

Verdict:

It depends. If this actually reduces my acne scarring I would consider repurchasing as it’s quite effective on my fine lines as well. Despite the price tag, I feel it would last me a long time because you don’t need that much product.

Have you tried the Dr. Brandt Microdermabrasion Skin Exfoliant? What did you think?

8 thoughts on “A beauty mini quickie: Dr. Brandt Microdermabrasion Skin Exfoliant

  1. I like this mini beauty update! I’ve tried a sample of the pores no more from the brand. I believe it was too orange for me or something but the pores were lessened in appearance for sure. It’s scary how sharp the beads were!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. “Shards of glass” is EXACTLY the same words I used to describe my experience with a microdermabrasion scrub before! It was the one by Mary Kay – so sharp and too abrasive for my liking. Have you had microdermabrasion facials at a spa? It’s like having a cat lick you with their tongue, hehe. Even THAT wasn’t as bad as the microdermabrasion scrub that I tried… yes, it’s effective but ouch, my poor skin. I’m glad this is working for you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

