Confessions of a Beauty Blogger Tag

I was tagged by Sandy of Lippie Obsession to do this tag, while I was reading her post I was excited to see that she had tagged me at the end because I enjoyed reading her answers! I don’t know any other people personally who blog so it’s nice to get another perspective on all technicalities of it. Thanks for tagging me Sandy! Please check out her amazing blog if you haven’t yet.

 1. When did you start your blog? 

I started around the end of October 2014, almost 5 months ago.

2. Why did you start a blog? 

I’ve always loved reading beauty blogs and watching beauty videos on YouTube. It’s always been in the back of my mind to do something of my own, but didn’t have the time until recently. I also wanted to do something fun and fulfilling for myself since becoming a SAHM.

3. When did you start becoming serious about starting a blog? 

I’m not sure of the exact turning point, but one day I decided to just go for it. I think I just felt ready for something new that I knew I would truly enjoy.

4. How many hours a week do you spend planning/writing/uploading posts? 

Honestly, it’s hard for me to say because I don’t set aside specific blogging time. I just do it in all the spare moments I have. I’m always thinking of new ideas for blog posts, I have a bunch just back logged in my ‘Drafts’ so I don’t forget about them. I didn’t realize how intensive blogging would be, from coming up with the idea, taking & editing photos, writing & editing posts. It’s extremely time consuming! I spend probably around a couple of hours a day cumulatively on my posts. 

5. What has been your biggest challenge about blogging? 

This ties into my answer above, not being able to have set blocks of time to work on posts. I usually complete a post over a span of 2-3 days, sometimes I wish I could wrap one up from start to finish in a few hours. It’s hard having to put it on the back burner when I’m hitting a stride in my writing and just want to get it all down. I feel like I’m always leaving blog posts at loose ends, it usually takes at least two days before I’m ready to post, unless it’s a ‘one day in six’, those I like to get up the same day, of course. Another reason it’s so time-consuming is that I proofread my posts a lot. Maybe too much.

6. When is it easiest for you to write your posts? 

At night after Ava has gone to bed, for obvious reasons.

7. What makes writing posts comfortable for you? 

I think what makes it comfortable is knowing that the people reading are supportive and truly interested in what I’m writing. The beauty community here on WordPress is amazing!

8. Where do you see your blog in one year? 

Hopefully, still up and running! I’m a SAHM for now, but not forever, although I have no set date in mind for when I’ll go back to work. I’m hoping at that point I’ll still be able to post a few times a week, if not daily.

9. What is the most rewarding thing to you about blogging? 

Anytime someone has commented saying that a review or a makeup look was helpful or inspiring. I’m always inspired and learning new things from everyone here myself and it’s nice to know a post of mine may have done the same for someone else.

10. What’s your worst makeup/hair habit? 

Probably not getting trims as regularly as I should. I think it had been longer than two months since the last time I’d  gone when I got my haircut last week.

11. What’s one quote you wish the world would live by? 

12. How long do you spend getting ready everyday? 

Anywhere from 30 min to 1 hour (if I’m showering, blow drying, & doing makeup OR if I’m doing a post on something I’ll take pictures of products, an OOTD, etc. Again, time consuming!)

13. What’s your favorite post on your blog?

The one that comes to mind as of late is the A plain white tee goes day to night. Most of what I write are posts reviewing beauty products, but the style posts are probably the most fun for me because it gives me a chance to be creative in my favorite medium, clothes!

14. Who is a beauty blogger that you think deserve more subscribers that they have? 
There are so many, but I’ll say any of the people I nominated for the Liebster Award recently. I truly do enjoy the blogs I listed, so again, please check them out if you haven’t. 🙂
15. What’s one thing you’re excited about in the coming year? 
Taking our first family vacation. 🙂
 
16. What has been your favorite blogging moment? 
Probably the first time someone followed me, I must have been thinking, “Wow, someone is actually reading and wants to read more!” I still get excited when someone decides to follow, thank you so much if you have!
 
17. How long does it take to prep for a post?  

Anywhere from 10 minutes (for a post like this, technically no time, but I wanted to create the graphic above to have a visual) to weeks if I’m testing a product for review that requires more time to work its magic.

18. Are you wearing jeans/ skirt right now or are you wearing pajama bottoms?  
 
Jeans! 
 
I tag StyledWithJoy, stashmatters, kauifrommaui, glamwithsam and gwenancarter! And anyone else interested in doing this tag, let me know if you did so I can check it out!
 
 
9 thoughts on “Confessions of a Beauty Blogger Tag

  1. Oh, interesting tag! I’ll definitely be doing this.
    Well done on your blog – you are definitely a model blogger both in terms of content and your engagement with the community. Funny that I found you through googling images for swatches of the Maybelline Master Conceal concealer – it was fate!
    PS. Your image for this post looks great! Now I have to create something when I do this tag, right?

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ll look out for your post! And thank you so much, I really appreciate that 🙂 Haha I figured you’d found me through the WordPress grapevine! It’s crazy knowing that my reviews come up in a google search. The image part was only because I wanted to, I have a thing about having a picture in all my posts.
      So not a requirement at all!

      Like

    • Thanks! I’m usually working on multiple posts over a few days so I’m actually not writing them all up the day before. I started off that way, but would never get anything up when I wanted. And you’re welcome can’t wait to read your answers 🙂

      Like

  2. Pingback: Confessions of a Beauty Blogger Tag | Styled with Joy

Leave a Reply

