Lipstick Lookbook: The nudes

I received a comment on my post about the Nars Audacious Lipsticks asking how similar MAC Velvet Teddy & the Nars Audacious Lipstick in Barbara are to each other. I went to swatch them and they are similar, but still different enough to me to say they aren’t really a dupe for each other. I decided I might as well swatch my other nudes in the color range, some have a bit of pink, but to me they’re more in the beige nude range. I think nudes are all relative, the more pink based ones are ‘nude’ in relation to my  natural lip color. These are all a bit too beige to be a true nude on me, but I do tend to associate these as my nude lipsticks regardless.

I got the two L’Oreal Color Riche Lipsticks, Fairest Nude and Sultry Raven’s Pout (from the Project Runway Collection) because they were both talked about by beauty YouTubers. Especially Fairest Nude. Both of these have a satin finish and a hint of pink, more so in Sultry Raven’s Pout. I really don’t need both of these because they are so close to one another, but I do find that Sultry Raven’s Pout does suit me better because it has that extra pink tone. When I have a tan I can’t wear Fairest Nude on its own because it give me that ‘dead’ look.

MAC Velvet Teddy has no pink in it, it’s more of a tan nude. It has a matte finish and is probably my favorite MAC lipstick. It’s very pigmented, not overly drying, and I just love the color. It’s an actual ‘nude’ that doesn’t completely wash me out. Nars Audacious Lipstick in Barbara has the most pink of all and Rimmel Lasting Finish by Kate in 14 the least and tends to look more mauve on my lips. It’s also one of those I can’t wear with a tan because it leans a little more cool as well.

I’m pretty sure Velvet Teddy is the only nude I have as of now that really has no pink in it whatsoever. These other lipsticks were just the closest I could pull for comparison. Anyway, I hope this was helpful to anyone looking for some comparisons!

16 thoughts on “Lipstick Lookbook: The nudes

  1. Great post! They look really similar in the bullet but not when they are swatched. I have Fairest Nude. I could never wear this alone bc of the dead look as well. I only use it when I have a heavy smokey eye for going clubbing lol

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Lipstick Lookbook: The rose/mauve nudes, Part II | Always, Bree

  3. Pingback: Lipstick Lookbook: The corals | Always, Bree

  4. Pingback: Lipstick Lookbook: The pinks, Part 2 | Always, Bree

Leave a Reply

