Tarte Tartelette Amazonian Clay Matte Palette Review

I had been eyeing the Tarte ‘Tartelette’ Amazonian Clay Matte Palette since it came out, as a matte eye shadow lover it seemed like a match made in heaven. But, I just couldn’t bring myself to do it. Again, I didn’t need another eye shadow palette. I avoided it like the plague everytime I went to Sephora to prevent an accidental slip in my reserve. I would see other bloggers post about it over and over again & watch YouTubers talk about it. Everyone was in love. I felt like it was taunting me. And I continued to resist it.

Then the day I went to Ulta to pick up the new NYX lip products, I passed by it while browsing the high end section. And I could not help but reach out and swatch three of the darker colors. The minute I looked at my fingers I knew it was a done deal, the pigmentation was amazing!

I brought it home and I let it sit for a long time still in the bag, unopened. I felt guilty. I thought maybe I should just return it, I had just picked up the Stila Nouveau Natural Palette. Then I was watching Vivianna Does Makeup and it was part of her February favorites. The next day I was opening it up to do my eye makeup (seriously I need to give up watching YouTube beauty videos).

Tartelette Amazonian Clay Palette

The palette is very cute and sleek in purple and gold; it has good weight to it. And like many others have mentioned, I love that the names of each shadow are written directly underneath instead of on the back of the palette or on the clear plastic overlay. The mirror is also quite large, another major point of appreciation if you decide to take this on the go.

Tartelette Amazonian Clay Palette swatched

It houses 12 neutral, matte eye shadows in three rows that make creating an eye look easy. You have your base shade, crease color, outer V, and a liner all laid out for you. This palette would work for anyone and is another that works from day to night. You can create a soft daytime look or a sultry smoky eye. The color palette the brand chose is perfect, there are creams, browns, taupes, and a black shadow-everything you could ever want. And if anyone were ever to go beyond the usual for color, purple is pretty universally flattering. The pigmentation is overall fabulous, the least so coming from the pale yellow and pale cream shades. They are all easily buildable so that doesn’t bother me. They also blend beautifully. I’m so glad I ended up keeping it and I now know why everyone loves it so much.

First Row:

Second row:

Third row:

I will say that I do wish this palette had two or three shades with a little shimmer. Like a gold, bronze, and champagne. I still need to use something else for an inner corner highlight, I typically just use the highlight from the Charlotte Tilbury Bronze & Glow since I have it open already. I would actually take this as a travel palette and just use whatever highlight I’m using as my shimmer shade. I just think it would have been a little more well-rounded if they were already included. But then again, obviously it’s meant to be a matte palette and you can’t really fault it on that point.

I used supermom (love that name!) on my lid, wanderer in my crease, a little dreamer in the outer third of my crease and power player in the outer corner and lower lash line. Then I chose free spirit as my brow bone highlight. I’m really loving the third row of this palette for creating a lighter, more daytime smoky eye. You can always add the black shadow, fashionista, to add a little more drama for night. The ‘Tartelette’ Palette would be a great addition to your makeup repertoire if you’re a matte lover and are looking to add more to your stash or if you are just starting to get into makeup and want a palette with some great neutrals.

I hope you all enjoyed this review! What do you think of the ‘Tartelette’?

29 thoughts on “Tarte Tartelette Amazonian Clay Matte Palette Review

  1. Ha, the word Supermom describes YOU!
    I don’t have any Tarte eye shadows but they seem nice. In fact, I don’t own much Tarte cosmetics at all – I only have the Exposed blush, which I only bought because YouTube made me do it….
    It’s nice to have all mattes to off set all of the shimmery palettes out there (Urban Decay, I’m looking at you!). Great swatches!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. There are so many beautiful eyeshadow palettes out there and I’m so spoilt for choice! I’m trying to decide between this and the Too Faced Chocolate Bar Palette but not getting anywhere with it. Haha what do you think? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I haven’t tried the Too Faced so it’s hard for me to say! I think it depends on how much you like matte eyeshadows since the Tartelette is all matte. It looks like a gorgeous palette as well though, I don’t think you can go wrong either way!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I have the tarte holiday palette and am currently traveling, I did the same thing – brought only this palette and used shimmers from face products! The holiday palette does have shimmers, but they’re not as pigmented anyway. They make such pretty neutrals though!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I adore this palette and like you I struggled and said I was NOT buying it. I didn’t need it and that I could use my other palettes, AND THEN Jaclyn Hill used it and it was all over. I bought it! lol

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: Mascara Madness! 6 Mascara Reviews! Topic Tuesday

  6. Pingback: Spring smokey eyes & a pink pout  | Always, Bree

Leave a Reply

