Milani Color Statement Moisture Matte Lipstick Review

Claire sealed the deal on this one after talking about it in her January + February favorites video. And come on, can you ever have too many matte nude lipsticks? I stopped by the drugstore to pick up the Milani Color Statement Moisture Matte in Matte Naked (a cooler toned pinky nude), but of course was sucked in to the orangey red Matte Passion as well. These lipsticks retail for $5.49 each.

They come in a shiny gold lipstick bullet with the color of the lipstick shown at the bottom of each tube. No issues here. I did need to do a double swipe to build the color for the swatch, but I’ve found that it doesn’t always make a difference to me in how well the lipstick applies on my lips.

Milani Color Statement Moisture Matte Lipsticks in Matte Naked & Matte Passion

As always, I prepped with a lip balm before application. Matte Naked applied well, I did go over twice and found the formula to be smooth and didn’t feel very drying at all. I didn’t have as good of an experience with Matte Passion, it some took time to get even coverage and with several attempts to get opaque coverage I gave up. It also just looked more dry on my lips and was not as forgiving with any dryness I had. I also found that with both, I had to remember to apply a balm before each retouch because otherwise my lips got that dry, crepe paper look to them. I like the formula of the Maybelline Creamy Matte Lipsticks more, they just feel more moist in my lips. The website says that it “lasts for hours” and is “smear-proof”. I’d say that the transfer factor isn’t as extreme as a creme formula, but there is some transfer. I got about 3 hours of wear before it was ready for a touch up without eating.

Wearing Matte Passion & Matte Naked

I was pretty split on these, I do really like Matte Naked, but the red was a bust. I don’t plan on purchasing more of these because I prefer the formula of the Maybelline mattes much more. I love the color of Matte Naked, but I wish Matte Passion was a little more orange toned.

What are your thoughts on the Milani Color Statement Moisture Mattes?

20 thoughts on “Milani Color Statement Moisture Matte Lipstick Review

    • Thanks Silvia! And thank you as well for the nomination, I’ve actually done this one before too! I just read
      your post, I’m guilty of playing out songs myself πŸ™‚

      Like

  1. My IG friend says that when she wears Milani lipsticks, women always mistake the shades for MAC lippies. Possibly there are dupes if you have them! Too bad the red was a no go. No one wants to apply and apply and apply lippies!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

