Lipstick Lookbook: The reds

Next up in my Lipstick Lookbook are the reds. I couldn’t resist the title in my photo, I’ve read every Sherlock Holmes book in the series. But, let’s get back to the post. I didn’t start wearing red lipstick until around 4 years ago, I don’t think I was confident enough for it before then. I was always more adventurous with my eye shadow, I actually wore more color in those days. A red lip is sure to draw attention and I was just not ready for it. I’m not sure exactly what changed at the time, but I finally took the plunge into reds and now, honestly I don’t care who’s looking. I think I was just overly self-conscious. I love a great red, although I don’t wear the color often, when I do it just makes me happy. So here are the ones I’ve gathered since I’ve embraced it.

Nars Audacious Lipstick in Rita is a medium red and slightly more neutral. It has a satin finish and wears beautifully, applies smooth and has fabulous pigmentation.

Milani Color Statement Moisture Matte Lipstick in Matte Passion of course has a matte finish, it’s not my favorite to be honest because it doesn’t apply as opaquely and evenly as I would like for a matte red lipstick. It’s more of an orange red, which I love, but again I was not a fan of the formula. The color is just so amazing, I’m bummed it didn’t work out. I’m thinking about getting MAC Lady Danger to satisfy my need for an orangey red.

Revlon Matte Lipstick in In the Red is a darker, more neutral red and Really Red is blue based and brighter. They both have great pigmentation and aren’t overly drying for matte lipsticks. They are actually quite comfortable to wear. These were the first reds I started off with and I love them both.

MAC Retro Matte Lipstick in Ruby Woo is a classic blue based red that is just gorgeous! I know that people say that it is drying, but honestly I don’t think it’s that bad. Maybe because I don’t wear it all the time. But I do think any lover of a red lip needs this in her life. It just looks so good, the color is just perfection and very pigmented.

NYC Expert Last Lip Color in Red Suede is another medium, blue based red that is more of a satin finish. Pigmentation is fair, the formula was extra drying on me. Transferred way too easily as well.

Stila Stay All Day Liquid Lipstick in Beso is a classic blue based red that I go to when I’m looking for long-wear. I love the color, it applies opaquely and smoothly and dries to a matte finish. It can start to feel more drying the longer it’s on, but again it’s not that bad. Another love right here.

Rimmel Provocalips in Kiss Me Your Fool is another brighter bluish red that is super long wearing, it gives Beso a run for its money. It has good pigmentation and applies well, it doesn’t feel drying with the top coat. I will say that I do prefer a matte red lip, but this isn’t so shiny that it looks glossy. But if you really need your lip color to stay put, this is it.

I wasn’t sure if I should include the lipsticks I’m not very fond of, but I figured I should anyway. Just because it didn’t work for me doesn’t meant it won’t for someone else.

What’s your favorite red lipstick? I’d love to check it out!

20 thoughts on “Lipstick Lookbook: The reds

  1. Good post. I’ve been wanting to do the red lips but am scared to. Also have you seen the Korean red fade look? It’s like more pigmented inside and slowly fades out…would love to see what color would work for me on that.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Maggie! I think a red would look great on you 🙂 Yes that fade effect looks so cool, I haven’t tried it yet because I’m not sure I could pull it off! I’ll have to give it a go just to see how it would look!

      Like

  2. I don’t know if you’ve tried Sephora lipsticks before but I’ve just started wearing this Sephora Collection red lipstick I bought not long ago and I love it! It’s unexpectedly long wearing, probably because I only own drugstore lipsticks and haven’t used a better quality one so I was really pleasantly surprised by it. It’s one from the creamy range and in the shade Valentine which seems like a blue-based red to me, I’m so so pleased with it cos it isn’t even that expensive for its quality! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • I haven’t but have heard good things about the Sephora brand makeup. I think I’m just so blinded by all the ‘brand name’ beauty lines they carry I never venture over to their area. I’ll check out Valentine next time I’m in store though, thanks for the rec! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Lipstick Lookbook: The rose/mauve nudes, Part II | Always, Bree

  4. Pingback: Lipstick Lookbook: The corals | Always, Bree

  5. Pingback: Lipstick Lookbook: The pinks, Part 2 | Always, Bree

Leave a Reply

