Worth the hype?: MAC Satin Lipstick in Brave

Every time I browse through Pinterest, I see pins of ‘Kylie Jenner lips’. Her pout has become quite the phenomenon and I wasn’t really into the hype. But, I kept seeing this one pin of MAC Brave lipstick + Soar being her combo of choice (I’ve also read that Velvet Teddy & Twig are the lipsticks and Whirl is the lip liner, really who knows?). I was really just attracted to Brave because it looks like one of those rosy pink nudes that I love. Every time I’d see the pin, I’d stop and stare at Brave. When I went to the MAC store two weeks ago I looked at it and decided yes, I can tell I’m going to love it, I didn’t even bother to swatch it and bought it.

MAC Satin Lipstick in Brave

Brave is a definite ‘MLBB’ coor and glides on super smooth. It has a satin finish and looks just beautiful on the lips. The pigmentation is also good. It’s one of those everyday colors that I don’t even have to think about, it’s just so pretty. A lip liner will definitely extend it’s lasting power (about 3 hours on it’s own), but it also an easy color to touch up with, no mirror required.

After swatching it and putting it on, I realized I had something similar to it, but wasn’t sure what. I started swatching some other lipsticks next to it for comparison. Then I figured out why I like it so much. My favorite lipstick, Maybelline’s Warm Me Up, is pretty close dupe for Brave!

Top swatches: Maybelline Warm Me Up, Nars Anita, MAC Brave, Rimmel by Kate 14; Bottom swatches: Warm Me Up & Brave

Brave is more pigmented than Warm Me Up, but they look quite similar. Maybe Brave is slightly rosier, but if you’re looking for a cheaper alternative, try Warm Me Up.

Brave is definitely giving Velvet Teddy some strong competition as my favorite MAC lipstick! I recommend it if you’re looking for a great pinky nude. So yes, this one is worth the hype, even if you’re not looking for the ‘Kylie’ lip look.

29 thoughts on “Worth the hype?: MAC Satin Lipstick in Brave

  1. Hahaha ANOTHER MLBB lipstick?
    Yes, I’ve heard all the hype about this lipstick and I’m glad this delivers!
    Really, in the grand scheme of things, I don’t think MAC lipsticks are all that expensive… drugstore prices are definitely creeping up there.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lol I know! I can’t seem to have too many, there are even more I want, but I think I’m going to wait until I actually use up at least one lipstick before considering another. And true MAC isn’t really that bad, but I have heard they are slowly jacking up their prices.

      Like

  2. Pingback: A match made in eye shadow heaven: MAC Satin Taupe + Naked Lunch | Always, Bree

Leave a Reply

