Lipstick Lookbook: The rose/mauve nudes, Part I

I’m really glad I started this lipstick series because it’s making me realize I seriously need to evaluate every single lipstick purchase from now on. I had to break up the rose/mauve nudes into two parts because I didn’t have time to put them all in one post. Also, I actually had a hard time deciding which was more mauve or pink or both, I finally decided just to throw them all together and hope for the best! For the most part, they are all a little different from each other, but if I was actually going to buy another shade, it would have to be really different in some way from what I have already. I’m really glad I’m doing this for reference, I can always pull up this post the next time I’m lured by another supposed MLBB.

The Maybelline Color Sensational Lipstick in Warm Me Up is still my favorite pinky nude lipstick. For me, it just has that perfect balance of pink and nude and it’s an easy color to wear. The Rimmel Lasting Finish Lipstick by Kate in 08 and the Nars Audacious Lipstick in Anita are more on the rosier side. I also have one of the original Rimmel Lasting Finish Lipsticks in Airy Fairy, purchased because a beauty YouTuber raved about it. It’s a little too light and cool for my skin tone, especially in the summer, in the winter I can get away with it. The Revlon Matte Lipstick in Mauve It Over is another YouTube buy, but this one I really do love. It’s a peachy pink nude that’s reminiscent of MAC Velvet Teddy, but more pink. It doesn’t seem mauve to me at all really. The Milani Creamy Matte Lipstick in Matte Naked is a newer addition and has more brown to it and a hint of mauve. It probably could have gone with the first bunch of more tan nudes, but since it’s a recent purchase it missed the boat.

I actually have love for each of these lipsticks, they all have good formulas and color payoff. I can wear all of them on their own, except Airy Fairy, I’d probably need to wear it with a warmer liner underneath in the summer. It would be perfect on someone whose complexion is lighter than mine.

If you love these kinds of lipsticks, more to come next week!

25 thoughts on “Lipstick Lookbook: The rose/mauve nudes, Part I

  1. I own Rimmel 08 as well and strangely it looks slightly darker and warmer on my lips. Which is very unusual but also kind of cool. 🙂 This was a really good post. Can’t wait for part 2. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! I’m guessing it’s because you probably have a lighter complexion and the lighting differences. I feel like the same lipstick can look different in two shots because of subtle lighting changes. So frustrating!

      Liked by 1 person

      • You might be right, it certainly seems like a logical way to look at it. 🙂 it’s definitely a great MLBB kind of shade. 🙂 Really enhances the lips in a subtle way, but could also be done to really make the lips look irresistible. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Lol you had to do a two-parter because you have so many rose / mauve shades! You crack me up! Seriously, the feature photo looks like all the colours are the same!
    I probably should talk, wait til I start tackling my lip products…
    My favourites on you from this set are Mauve Me Over and Anita!

    Liked by 1 person

    • LOL I have a serious addiction here. Doing lip swatches is a process, I almost considered just skipping it, but it didn’t seem right. It’s always the first color I look for when there’s a new lipstick release and I’m always convinced I need it. But I always get the most wear out of them so I’m actually okay with that. And yes, I’d LOVE to see your collection, always looking for a new one to add to the family 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Haha I know what you mean Bree! I realised that I tend to gravitate to the same few colours whenever I shop for lipsticks too. I always start out wanting to try something different but I get worried that it will be too loud or unsuitable for daily wear so I look at the ones that are more versatile or good for daily wear. It’s still awesome to check out your fabulous lipstick collection though! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Lipstick Lookbook: The rose/mauve nudes, Part II | Always, Bree

  5. Pingback: Lipstick Lookbook: The corals | Always, Bree

  6. Pingback: Lipstick Lookbook: The pinks, Part 2 | Always, Bree

Leave a Reply

