Joyful moments: Week of March 22, 2015

Sometimes I get caught up in the minutiae and frustrations of everyday life, a dangerous road to tred because it won’t lead to anywhere good. Last Monday, I sat stewing over the fact that M was late coming home from work again, when he said he was likely coming home early. I was exhausted by the ‘mom grind’ that day and when M comes home I can just breathe a little easier. We’ve been together for almost 8 years, and 5 of those he’s had the same work schedule of long, unpredictable hours. I remember for the first three months, he’d come home to me, a less than happy camper, because he was pretty much always late (back then was probably the worst of it). After those early months I realized, this is not something you can change. Stop wasting energy on it. But, I still slip here and there. When Ava was at the height of her ‘high needs’ personality, I would wonder why. She would cry and cry for reasons unknown at the time, and I thought something I’d done while pregnant caused it. I would dwell on it and it would eat me alive. I just wanted to ‘fix’ it. Until I came to realize, Ava is who she is-loud and passionate; she knows what she wants (and what she doesn’t want). It’s so easy to focus on the negative and I always try to remind myself to ‘count my blessings, not my problems’.

It really is so important to always remind myself of all the positives, I can honestly say it has made a huge difference in my outlook on life and my general well-being. I wasn’t always the happiest when I was younger, I was never really satisfied with all the aspects of my life. I could always find fault in myself, instead of being happy about all the good things I had. Now, I tell myself every day how blessed we are are as a family. We have our health and we have each other. I wanted to share some of the highlights from this week, the little things that really brought me joy. I’ll probably do this every once in a while as something nice to look back on in the future, especially if I’m having a ‘down’ day.

1. I took Ava to story time at our local bookstore. She loves to books. I do too, it feels like the little piece of me that is now part of her. At the end, they put out crayons and coloring sheets, I laughed while watching her run around and try to color all the sheets that were spread on the ground!

2. We brought Ava to brunch at a new restaurant, M and I love discovering new breakfast places. I got so excited to see red velvet pancakes on the menu and, of course, we got them on the side. It was amazing until three bites in, I realized I’d given up chocolate for Lent (doh!). I love when we all get to sit together for a meal, it’s a tradition I didn’t have growing up because of my dad’s hours, but I hope we can do it as much as possible in our own little family.

3. M had a business dinner on Friday night and I got some rare moments to myself, other than Ava’s naptime. I put on Bravo and had the place all to myself. The introvert in me was feeling pretty good.

4. Date night! It had been more than a month since the last one and it was the best time. Yes, we talked about Ava a lot, but we also talked about other things going in life and it was nice to have a few hours just to ourselves. It wasn’t rushed and my mind wasn’t in a million places, it felt like ‘old times’.

5. Ava fell asleep in the car seat on the way home and for once, she didn’t wake up when I pulled her out of it! Instead of worrying about her nap schedule and her sleeping in the crib, I sat on the couch and let her sleep on me for an hour. I haven’t held Ava while she sleeps since she was around 5 months old and I forgot how good it felt. It was the nice, long cuddle I can’t get when she’s awake and too ‘busy’ for mommy.

What moments brought you joy this week?

6 thoughts on “Joyful moments: Week of March 22, 2015

  1. RED VELVET PANCAKES!!! Now why hasn’t that migrated over here yet? Just pretend you didn’t know that red velvet is really chocolate with red food colouring thrown in, it’s ok… shhh I won’t tell.
    Nice to have rare adult moments when you have a kid – even though you both obviously obsess over her, it’s good to remember you married EACH OTHER.
    That last pic is super sweet – no a care in the world in Ava’s face!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I knooooow they were amazing!!! I had another slip when I ate a cupcake, I didn’t think chocolate like a chocolate bar. Oops. Yes, it’s so important because it’s so easy to just focus on the child! But when the parents are happy the kids are happy! I swear baby sleep is the best sleep, we were making noise and she didn’t even wake up!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Lol omg the lenten promise and red velvet pancakes. So this happened to my friend but she gave up rice. We went to Rice to Riches to get some rice pudding and mid bite I yelled out YOU GAVE THAT UP! It was hilarious and I’m pretty sure I scared everyone around us.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lmao! It’s crazy, when we went to dinner the other night I saw molten chocolate cake on the menu and I ALWAYS want that. So I said let’s get the molten cake and he gave me this look like, did you forget something? Seriously I need to stick a post-it to my forehead or something!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Aweeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee, that stinks about the RV pancakes! Hopefully you can go back soon after lint 🙂 But on a serious note, you are not alone. You have a hard, and I mean HARD job as a stay at home mom. It’s easy to get stir-crazy and down and I commend you for trying to “positive think” your way out of it. I remember my very first day home alone with my son when we brought him home from the hospital and I was out on maternity leave… I cried for HOURS after my husband got home just cause. So I can only imagine how much harder it is when your hubby has an odd schedule. If you have a mall near you, take Ava! Many malls have a play area (in doors) where you can just let em lose and tire out. I’ll take Gabriel for 30 minutes to an hour and then get him some nuggets and fries to much on in the stroller while I shop a little and get my mind of baby this, baby that.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh we definitely will! Our local malls don’t have play areas :/ but we’ve been going to story time and the indoor gym. We do go ‘mall walk’ once in awhile, but I try to avoid it so I don’t end up shopping! Now that she only naps once a day I bring her somewhere daily so I don’t go nuts! And I feel yah on the early days, I was a wreck in the beginning!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

