L’Oreal La Palette Nude 1 Review

I saw this while browsing the makeup aisle at Target and I just could not resist it. I’d seen the display at another drugstore promoting the L’Oreal La Palette Nude 1 & 2 ‘coming soon’, but I wasn’t phased. Until it was sitting right in front of my face just calling my name. Somehow I’ve been able to resist the Maybelline The Nudes Palette all this time, but L’Oreal got me.

From the brand:

Inspired by makeup designers ‘Must Have’ palettes, the La Palette Nude offers everything you need to master the art of nude eyeshadow. Makeup Designer Nude looks curated exclusively for each palette with step by step instructions and live tutorials. 10 highly pigmented shades range from light to dark to flatter every skin tone in 3 shadow finishes: shimmery satin, buttery matte & lustrous sheen.

The packaging is actually quite large for something from the drugstore, not quite as big as a Naked palette, but it’s probably not going into your daily makeup bag. There is a window in the cover to see all the shadows and a narrow mirror along it’s top length. It has a double ended brush, one side with a sponge applicator and the other a fluffy shader brush. The shadow pans are actually large as well.

The La Palette Nude 1 has mainly neutral earth-toned shades of brown and a couple of taupes. There are 3 matte shades, numbers 3, 5, and 6. The first two are good transition colors and 6 is good for adding more depth to the outer V or crease. The rest of the shades are a mix of satin and more shimmery finishes. The pigmentation varies, I had to work to build 2 and 4, but overall it’s good. Obviously not as good as a Naked Palette, but I found them easily buildable. Some of the shades are a little powdery, but I didn’t have a problem with fall out. They blended well and applied smoothly. I did not use the included brush to apply my makeup, but it actually worked well for doing my swatches. 🙂

I think the big question here is, “Do you hands-down absolutely need this palette?” If you already have the Naked palette, I’d say no, you’ll be fine without this. The Naked doesn’t have the more taupe shades this does (that are a bit reminiscent of the Naked 2), but I don’t think they’re special enough to get this whole palette. I do wish it had a matte black, but what else is new? It doesn’t have a matte brow highlight, but shade 1 is a satin and works fine for that. Shade 10 is more of a shimmer and I like it as an inner corner highlight. I’ve used the shadows with and without a primer and I do prefer using them with a primer. They do still have good lasting power on their own, but I feel like the color is stronger with a primer.

I did a basic gold and brown smoky eye with the shadows today, using 4 (gold satin) on the lid, 8 (dark taupe brown satin in the outer V, 6 (dark brown matte) to further deepen the outer corner and lower lash line. I used 10 (pale pink shimmer) in the inner corner and 1 (cream satin) on the brow bone. I used 5 (warm nutty brown) as a transition.

Although this isn’t a palette that I really needed, I’m still glad to have it. I think it will be good for travel because I do worry about my more expensive palettes when I travel and the eye shadows breaking. I’ll probably bring it with me when I go away in May. I don’t have another palette from the drugstore that’s as well rounded in terms of the range of neutrals and mix of matte and shimmers.

So the verdict is, don’t go rushing to the store to pick this up if you already have a good assortment of neutral eye shadows. But, if you’re just starting out with makeup, I think this is a good palette of basic neutrals that will get a lot of use.

What I’m really excited to try is this:

Did I mention I have no self-control?

21 thoughts on “L’Oreal La Palette Nude 1 Review

  1. Pingback: If putting on false lashes makes you break into a cold sweat: Kiss Trio Lashes Review | Always, Bree

  2. You KNOW that I have to weigh in!
    1) Yes, you have no self control
    2) this is a great starter palette, what a nice mixture of mattes and shimmers, decent quality
    3) You can totally justify this purchase since you need a travel palette. Uh huh. See #1
    (Love the eye look you did, the smudgey lower lash line looks great!)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hahaha you’re hilarious Bree! I totally enjoyed reading this review and am quite tempted to go get one myself now! It does make sense that you’d need a travel palette though, I don’t know if I want to go around with my Naked Palette and have them breaking on me.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha thanks Soph! I was thinking about bringing my Naked Basics palette since it’s small, but it’s too basic and like to have some shimmery lid shades that I could just slap on and this fits the bill. And no tears will be shed if it goes missing or breaks. I always worry that my luggage might get lost and I’ll lose any expensive makeup I’ve brought!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Current ‘go-to’ makeup. | Always, Bree

  5. Pingback: Travel Makeup Essentials | Always, Bree

  6. Pingback: A summer night out makeup look: Bronzed eyes & peached cheeks  | Always, Bree

  7. Pingback: Current favorites: September 2015 | Always, Bree

Leave a Reply

