A beauty mini quickie: MAC False Lashes Mascara

I’m not that into buying high-end mascaras anymore because I’ve never been amazed enough to repurchase any that I’ve owned. But, whenever I get the chance I love trying all the sample size mascaras just incase there is that magical one out there that I’m missing. I got the MAC False Lashes mascara the last time I placed an order from Nordstrom and wanted to share my thoughts in a mini review.

From the MAC website:

Fashionably false in look, but honestly real, this mascara’s key benefits of volume and curl are matched by a dramatic end look. The unique edge: the ultra-thickening formula in combo with the plush-’em-up action of its unique double-lush brush.

This mascara has the typical bristle style brush that I haven’t used in quite some time, all of the drugstore mascaras I’ve used lately have plastic bristles. The brush head is quite large and tapers towards the end and the bristles are definitely dense. The formula is thick and on the drier side and did not smudge too much, surprisingly, for not being waterproof. I actually think the brush was a little too dense, I had a hard time combing the brush through my lashes, especially when adding more coats. I did like that the brush tapered at the end, making it easier to reach the smaller lashes at the inner corners. I liked the formula as well, I felt like it did add good volume after two coats. I didn’t see any significant difference in length. This sample was also not waterproof so my lashes did start to droop after awhile.

Top to bottom: lashes curled; one coat; two coats

But, do I think it gives a ‘false lash’ effect? I’m going to have to say no on this one. While the volume is nice, it’s not enough to give that ‘wow’ factor for me. I much prefer the Maybelline Lash Sensational.

Pros:

  • adds volume to lashes
  • the formula is nice, not too wet and didn’t smudge much for a non-waterproof formula

Cons:

  • does not add length
  • doesn’t hold a curl
  • the dense brush made it hard to comb through lashes
  • although the volume was nice, I feel like calling it ‘False Lashes’ is an overstatement

Verdict:

I’m not going to be purchasing the full size of this, especially since it doesn’t hold a curl. It was also just a little annoying trying to maneuver the brush through my lashes, I think I’m finding I do prefer the short plastic bristle mascara brushes. The drugstore mascaras I have work just as well as this one, actually better, and this sample wasn’t enough to convince me to try the waterproof version. I think this would be a good option for someone with naturally long lashes with a curl, it just doesn’t work with my straighter, slightly shorter lashes.

If you have tried the MAC False Lashes, please share what you thought! 🙂

14 thoughts on “A beauty mini quickie: MAC False Lashes Mascara

  1. I haven’t tried this mascara but I completely agree with you – I have not found a high end mascara that has knocked my socks off that I would pay 3 or 4 times the price of a drugstore mascara. Thanks for doing this review. One thing I will say about the MAC mascara samples is that they give it in a squeeze tube – I wish ALL mascaras came in squeeze tubes like that, you can get more product out of it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for reading! Yes I’m almost tempted to try the Armani Eyes to Kill, but I’m afraid to be disappointed! I hope that one comes out as a sample someday.

      Like

  2. I’ve never tried any MAC mascaras before but it does look like it gives great volume! 😀 Shame about the lengthening aspect though! 😦 And also that it doesn’t hold a curl, that’s so important for me when it comes to mascara!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Even the packaging doesn’t look like a typical mascara. It almost looks like it’s a squeezy tube so I had no idea what this was until I read the title/review. I actually thought it was lash glue. Even the Falsies mascara can claim they look like false lashes than this MAC mascara. Nice try, MAC! Good review, Bree 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’ve never tried this mascara. But like you, I do manage to live with using mascara samples from mid-to-high end brands (I usually get them from Ipsy). Have you tried Tarte’s Lights, Camera, Lashes? I found it to be really good at making my lashes look longer and curled even without having to use an eyelash curler.

    Mnel ❤ http://lifeonreverse.com

    Liked by 1 person

    • I actually do have a mini of that one! I remember liking it, but my daughter grabbed it and now it’s MIA. I’ll have to see if I can find it. Thanks for stopping by and reading 🙂

      Like

  5. Back in my bar tending days I had a regular who would tip me in MAC makeup– it was awesome haha. False Lashes was my fav, but then she gave me 20 or so samples (exactly the size you pictured) of Zoom Lash and it was great! I actually love these sample sizes because you can stash them anywhere and even in small purses. Right now I’m using Mirenesse though.

    Like

  6. Love mascara and been wanting to try this false lash look. I was going to buy the younique 3d lashes one but this post has made me rethink this – that’s a good thing. Lol. What is the one mascara you would invest on? Any advice would be appreciated, I am so clueless!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

