Mission Closet Organization, Complete!

I’d posted way back when about how almost a year after moving into our house, I’d still not completely unpacked my closet. It was actually quite embarrassing every time we’d show someone around our new place. I would stay downstairs with Ava and quietly cringe as I imagined M bringing people into our bedroom and having people silently judge my laziness as they poked their heads into my closet. I kind of wish I had taken pictures of the before because it looked like a hot mess. I always had clothes thrown on the ground because I was still living out of those huge Ziplock bags we’d used to pack our clothes in during the move. I’d just throw things to the side and make excuses. I just had a baby. I don’t have time to clean. Well, 9 or 10 months later, that excuse was getting old, even to me.

In that post, I made it a goal to have the closet organized by my birthday, May 1, as a gift to myself. Who doesn’t want a clean closet where you can actually find what you need in less than a minute? I was spending so much time just finding what I was looking for, it was getting ridiculous! Anyway, I met my goal about a month early, mostly because we’re going away in early May and I need to focus my energy on getting together everything we’ll need for our trip. But, I didn’t want to push this back any further so I put myself into overdrive just to get it done. I will say that it’s not quite perfect, I still need to get more of those felt hangers so that they are all uniform, but otherwise I’m happy with the turnout. I’d love to get some built-ins put in someday, but we have bigger home improvements to do first.

On the left side is my jewelry cabinet and we got those cubicle style shelves from Ikea so I’d have more storage and a place to put things. At the end, I have my belts and scarves hanging, as well as hanging shoe storage where I keep my flats and sandals. I need another hanger for my scarves because they are overflowing on the one I have. On the right, I organized all my clothes into dresses, skirts, pants, blouses, etc. Everything is separated so I’m not combing through each hanger to find what I’m looking for. It’s actually been easy to keep it organized since I took the time to do it. I lined my shoes around the perimeter going from sneakers to boots to heels. I have my bags stored on the wire shelving at the end of my closet, it’s not ideal, but it works for now. I want to put compartments up there somehow, but again, not priority at the moment.

I’m still trying to figure out how to best utilize the space in the Ikea compartments. Originally, I’d wanted to keep my folded jeans and sweaters in there, but with Ava it’s not happening. She’d end up pulling everything out. I’m keeping them up on the wire shelving above this for the time being. It’s nice to have a spot to put things, instead of scattering my jewelry on my nightstand as I remove it at the end of the night. I have a little fan shaped glass dish that I put all my stud earrings on since that’s what I typically wear and my girlfriend gave me a hand with all the palm reading lines on it for putting rings on. I also hang my hoop earrings off the thumb since the only rings I wear often are my wedding band and engagement ring.

Opposite the back wall is my vanity. That little plastic 5-drawer compartment is where I keep the makeup overflow. To the left of the Ikea shelves is the matching jewelry storage to the vanity. If I could convince M to get the matching nightstands I’d be stoked, but I’m not even going to go there. He thinks our bedroom looks girly enough as is.

This whole process has really made getting ready for day easier and more enjoyable. It’s also so easy to keep everything organized now. I’d love to know how you guys store your handbags, I’m still not happy with how they look on that shelf, so if you have any suggestions please let me know!

15 thoughts on “Mission Closet Organization, Complete!

  1. Everything looks great! I really need to organize my closet too but we’re moving in the fall so I’m not sure if I really want to since I have to pack everything anyway lol. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Good job organizing your closet earlier than planned! I know what you could do for the compartments — get Ikea Foldable Storage Boxes that fit perfectly in the shelves. If you put your jeans in there, it might even be too heavy for Ava to mess with. She’ll probably try and eventually leave it alone. Just an idea!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! I really love it, it only has the one drawer for storage in the center so that’s one thing to consider if you wanted something that had more. Otherwise, it’s amazing and I definitely recommend it! It’s from Pier 1, the Hayworth Collection.

      Like

  3. Pingback: 2 Blog Awards and an apology. | Always, Bree

Leave a Reply

