A match made in eye shadow heaven: MAC Satin Taupe + Naked Lunch

Project ‘Fill MAC Palette’ is more than halfway complete with the additions of Satin Taupe and Naked Lunch. I got these when I went to a freestanding MAC store several weeks ago, and finally got a chance to start using them last week. I didn’t have much time to browse when I was there because it was towards the end of our little mall excursion and Ava was starting to get tired. I already knew I wanted Satin Taupe (thank you again to stash matters for the recommendation, you can see the rest of her top 10 MAC eye shadows here) and a lipstick in Brave (more about that here). I wanted to get just one more eye shadow and just started swatching any other shadows that caught my attention next to Satin Taupe. That’s how I found Naked Lunch. After seeing the two shades next to each other, it sealed the deal and I brought them home to add to my palette.

IMG_2260

MAC Satin Taupe & Naked Lunch

Satin Taupe has a frost finish and is described by MAC to be a “taupe with silver shimmer”. It looks great on it’s own as a smokier lid shade and to define the crease or outer V area. It’s one of those easy, go-to neutral shades that can go with anything because of it’s mix of brown and grey. Naked Lunch is also a frost and is described as a “minimal pink with shimmer”. It brings beautiful light to the lids and really brightens them. Both are well pigmented and blend together beautifully. These shadows pair together so beautifully, it’s my newest favorite pairing, I really just love the way pink looks with greys and browns.

I used dune as a brow bone highlight and wit in the crease from the Stila Nouveau Natural Palette (review here) before going in with Naked Lunch on the inner 3/4 of my lid. Then I went in with Satin Taupe on the outer V and lower 3/4 of my lash line. I used a little Soft Brown to add more warmth to my crease and Rice Paper on the inner 1/3 of my lower lash line. I tightlined my upper waterline with the MUFE Aqua Eyes pencil liner in black and applied a few coats of the L’Oreal Telescopic Waterproof Mascara. I used the Milani Rose Powder Blush in Romantic Rose on my cheeks and the MAC Lipstick in Viva Glam V on my lips.

Satin Taupe and Naked Lunch make for two everyday eye shadows that I know will be go-to’s for when I don’t want to worry about figuring out what’s going to work. I especially love the duo with Soft Brown in the crease, the effect is just beautiful! Definitely check them out next time you’re a the MAC counter!

I have six slots left in my palette, what should I pick up next? I want to add a black shadow, so likely Carbon (although I’ve heard mixed feelings on it) or Typographic. If anyone has experiences with these two, please share your thoughts on which is a better choice. I still need to look at Patina (another rec from stash matters) and Amber Lights, as well. I want to round it out as a solid neutral palette that I can use alone without having to pull from other palettes.

I hope you enjoyed this post! Have you tried Satin Taupe and Naked Lunch?

Also, Happy Easter!

18 thoughts on “A match made in eye shadow heaven: MAC Satin Taupe + Naked Lunch

  1. Teehee enabling success!
    Naked Lunch was one of my first MAC shadows, great choice! They look fabulous on you!
    Did you have a chance to test out All That Glitters? A couple of weeks ago I helped a coworker pick out 2 MAC eye shadows and she chose Satin Taupe and All That Glitters 🙂
    Carbon isn’t a true black, more of a sooty charcoal. I think you’re better off with Typographic, check out how much blacker it is beside Carbon:
    http://www.temptalia.com/mac-eyeshadow-swatches-grays-silvers-blacks
    Other recs, some pops of colour: Star Violet, Stars n’ Rockets, Sumptuous Olive.
    Good luck on your Project Fill MAC palette, I’m sure you’ll be inundated by suggestions!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for all the recs! I’ll def get Typographic, major difference! You know I was writing this the whole time thinking All That Glitters because it was another I’d swatched but I knew it was wrong and went back to check the palette to make sure because it didn’t look right but then maybe I just didn’t remember correctly. I probably would have picked it up too but I stopped myself! Lol I guess I do have some semi self-control!

      Like

Leave a Reply

