Beauteque April Mask Maven Bag Review

When Beauteque gave me the opportunity to do a review of their April Mask Maven Bag, I have to admit I was more than thrilled. I’ve mentioned before that my interest in Asian skincare and beauty products has been growing as of late and that many of these products are not easily available to me where I live. The subscription service and the company were definitely new to me, so I was eager to learn more about them.

Beautique is an online store that sells Asian cosmetics and skincare, such as My Beauty Diary, Etude House, Holika Holika, Tony Moly, and other well-known brands. When I saw that Tony Moly was one of the brands represented, my interest was further piqued because it’s the only Asian brand I’m more familiar with and that I’ve enjoyed. The Mask Maven is one of their monthly subscription services that includes a variety of masks, such as sheet masks, hand and feet masks, hair masks, wash-off  masks, and more. Every month your bag will have 9 to 11 masks, and the types of masks you get each month will vary.  

At beautequemonthly.com, customers can either subscribe month to month, or do a prepaid subscription for 3 months, 6 months, or 12 months. Those who opt for the month to month or 3 month prepaid subscription will pay $16/month, for 6 months prepaid it costs $15/month, and for 12 months prepaid it is $14/month. Those who opt for the month to month subscription are billed on the 20th of each month. Also, if a subscription is made after the 10th day of the month, that person will received the next month’s bag. So if you decided to subscribe on the 11th of April, you would get the bag for May. Each bag gets shipped starting at the 20th of each month.

Inside the mailing package is a sheer drawstring bag holding all of the masks and an informational card. The April bag contains seven sheet masks, a cheek mask, and an acne reducing mask. The card also includes instructions on how to use each type of mask. This was key as not all of the masks have their instructions in English. I thought this was a thoughtful addition on Beauteque’s part because I, of course, quickly glanced at the card and went straight to checking out what products were inside. When I realized I couldn’t read some of them I kind of panicked, but luckily I looked at the card more thoroughly and found the directions were included.


There are seven sheet masks in the April bag, which is something I’ve been dying to try. I’ve seen plenty of beauty bloggers and vloggers rave about sheet masks and I was excited to be able to try a few for myself. The masks target a variety of skin concerns: three of them are brightening, two are hydrating, and two are anti-aging. There is also an acne fighting mask which looks to be the more traditional wash-off sort and a cheek mask, something that I’ve never seen anything like before. It seems to be a product to address redness and irritation in that area. I like how the bag includes masks for a variety of skin concerns and that anybody can find one that that would address his or her needs. I have combination skin with an oily T-zone and I feel like all of the sheet masks and the acne mask would be great skin treatments for me, especially because my cheeks have been drier since this winter (or maybe I’m just getting older). On days when my skin is looking a little dull or I have something special I’m going to, I think the brightening masks would be a nice to give my skin an added glow. I’ve definitely become more conscious of the signs of aging on my face so I’m definitely curious to see how the firming masks work. I don’t feel like I have a ton of redness on my cheeks, but the mask does say that it’s hydrating so I’ll have to see about that one. I think the Asian brands are quite innovative with their products and the Mask Maven bag is a fun way to discover things that are a little ‘out of the box’ in the skincare realm.

I have tried a couple of the products already, I’m trying not to overdo it and overwhelm my skin. I will say that so far, I’m happy with what I’ve tried and I’m excited to share my thoughts on the specific masks with everyone. I’m planning on doing more specific reviews about them, so be on the lookout for those!

Overall, I think the Beauteque Monthly Mask Maven subscription service is a great way to try out Asian skincare from a variety of brands. I think it allows people to figure out what kinds of masks work well and which brands they enjoy, enabling them to hone in on what to repurchase. I found that one of the sheet masks that I tried and like was available on the Beauteque website. It would also be a great gift for any of your friends who are skincare fiends, especially those who are interested in Asian skincare products.

If you’re interested in learning more about Beautique and their Mask Maven subscription, you can find out more here.

*The April Mask Maven Bag was sent to me for review by Beauteque, as always, all thoughts and opinions shared here are my own. 

20 thoughts on “Beauteque April Mask Maven Bag Review

  1. What a fantastic subscription! I lurve my sheet masks and the monthly rate for these is very reasonable. I’ve just got SO many masks to use up (I should do a sheet stash!). I really like the illustration on that Black Rose Acne one, and the ever so cute Tony Moly Cheek masks!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve never tried Asian skincare but I’ve definitely been wanting to! The packaging for all of the masks are adorable – almost good enough to eat. I’ve never heard of that subscription bag but I will definitely check it out! You get quite a bit of product for that price 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: April Mask Maven Bag: Hydrating Sheet Masks Review | Always, Bree

  4. Pingback: Current favorites: April 2015 | Always, Bree

  5. Pingback: Face Mask Review: Hanaka Black Rose Acne Fighting Mask | Always, Bree

  6. Pingback: Sheet Mask Review: The Brighteners | Always, Bree

Leave a Reply

