Rimmel Show Off Lip Velvet Review


I really liked the L’Oreal Infallible Pro Matte Glosses (review here) that I’d tried awhile back, so when I saw that Rimmel had some of their own in two shades I just can’t get enough of, they went straight into my cart. For whatever reason, I just never got on with the NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream in Istanbul, maybe I just got a bad one? Everyone raves about them, but it just seemed to accentuate any dryness on my lips. Ever since trying the L’Oreal, I do like the look and feel of these types of lip products so I hoped Rimmel wouldn’t let me down.


These lip colors are housed in your standard lipgloss like tube with a doe foot applicator, except it has an indentation in its center to hold more product. I still end up wiping the excess before applying to my lips. I chose Atomic Rose, a peachy pink nude (of course), and Orange-ology, an orangey red. Both colors are outstanding, it was love from the moment I swatched them. The formula is pigmented and applies beautifully with the applicator. Sometimes with a red things can get messy, but here there was no issue. They do transfer and aren’t super long wear, but they look gorgeous on and the red faded surprisingly even. If you tend to press your lips together often, beware, these will move on you.

So yah, in case you couldn’t tell yet, I’m in lurve with these! I was thinking about picking up the MAC lipstick in Lady Danger, but I think Orange-ology has fulfilled my need for the time being. Both shades are gorgeous though and I’m very tempted to pick up more!

Have you tried the Rimmel Show Off Lip Velvets yet?

21 thoughts on “Rimmel Show Off Lip Velvet Review

  1. Ohhh a girlfriend of mine just sent me a picture of these the other day and asked if I had heard of them or tried them before! I will definitely have to pick some up at Walgreens next time I’m there! I never seen them in the Rimmel section, although I guess I’m never really looking either!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Aww too bad you didn’t like the Istanbul. It’s the only one I have and I love it! Maybe do a lip scrub before using it for better application. These lip velvets look awesome. The orange one is such a spring summer color and the other one is great for everyday!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. So pretty! I’ve eyed these babies at the drugstore so glad you did a review! At first on your arm swatch I was in love atomic rose..but for some reason on the lips it didn’t seem as heavily pigmented. Did you feel that way at all? Maybe it’s my eyes!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. These look great! It’s funny that you choose 2 very different colours and they both suit you so well. I don’t know if I could ever pull off an orange red lip – I’ve read that there’s a risk of it making your teeth appear yellow, I would not want that! Do they have a mousse type of texture? Any scent / taste?

    Liked by 1 person

    • No scent or taste, lol if I’m mistaken I’ll let you know! It is a mousse type texture similar to the NYX soft matte lip creams but it seems lighter. Hmmm maybe I should pickup some white strips, I haven’t noticed if my teeth look yellow when I wear it!

      Liked by 1 person

    • It definitely is a touch up lip product, but it fades fairly evenly. I’d say a couple of hours without eating or drinking a ton, it wears more like a gloss. I’m just so obsessed with the colors I’m that I’m not bothered by the wear time. Definitely not for those who prefer long-wear lip colors.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: A summer night out makeup look: Bronzed eyes & peached cheeks  | Always, Bree

Leave a Reply

