EOTD: Out of my comfort zone with shades of green.

Inspired by the many who use more color in their eye looks, I decided to go out of my comfort zone with green one day. I still have this Maybelline Stylish Smokes Eye Shadow Quad in Emerald Smokes from way back when I did use more color in my eye looks. I also had a sample sized Urban Decay 24/7 Eye Liner Pencil in Mildew that I’ve never used so I figured, just go for it! I’ve realized that whenever I share my makeup looks, they pretty much all look the same. But, I mainly like to post them to show how the products look on and or to update on something new that I’m loving. I know it’s on the boring side, but it’s just what I like, I think neutrals are beautiful and the slight variations in tone and color are enough for me. For some reason after finishing up a typical bronze eye, I just felt like it needed something else and I thought green might be the way to go.

Since I only wanted to add just a subtle touch of green, I used Mildew on my lower lash line. After looking at it in the mirror, it was just so ‘there’ I had this moment where I wanted to back track and just take it off. Although the shade isn’t a bright green, it still felt like such a stark contrast to the rest of my eye makeup and I felt like I needed to dull it down a bit. I’m actually not crazy about this Emerald Smokes Quad, I find it difficult to build the color and the darkest shade does not apply smoothly. I didn’t use this palette much after the first few times, but because of my hoarding tendencies I haven’t thrown it out. But the lid shade is an olive brown tone that I thought would help to make the green more wearable for me so I used it to smudge out Mildew. I also used the brow bone shade to brighten the inner corner of my lower lash line and I actually thought it worked well and was quite pigmented.

After I finished the rest of my makeup, I felt a lot better and less shocked looking in the mirror. Overall, I like the effect it gave and I’m willing to play around with green tones, but I think I need to try some other products since I’m not crazy about that Maybelline quad. Suggestions are welcome!

24 thoughts on “EOTD: Out of my comfort zone with shades of green.

  1. Lovely makeup look! 🙂 Sorry to hear that the Maybelline quad didn’t work too well for you. That’s a shame because those colors look really pretty! ❤ xo

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Do you have the Wet n’ Wild palette in Comfort Zone? It’s amazing quality and it has both neutrals AND some green shades. Well worth the steep investment of $5. 😀
    I like this technique of adding a colourful liner to the lower lash line. I’ve been wanting to rock something like this. The other way I like to add a touch of colour is to the inner corner lid – just a tiny bit and only really visible on me when I blink.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

