April Mask Maven Bag: Hydrating Sheet Masks Review

Instead of doing separate posts on each of the sheet masks I received for review from Beautique in the April Mask Maven bag (review here), I decided to group them together by category. Since it’s still pretty chilly here and my skin hasn’t recovered from the dryness of winter, I thought I’d start with the hydrating masks. I also recently started breaking out like crazy (I’ll have an upcoming post on that as well) and have been hitting my La Roche Posay Effaclar Duo hard, which has only compounded the issue. The first mask I tried is from My Beauty Diary and is called the Mexico Cactus Mask. It’s ingredients include calendula and aloe which are supposed to “soothe and moisturize the skin, leaving it looking refreshed”. The directions for all the sheet masks are the same, you basically take the mask out and apply it to clean skin, making sure that it adheres to all the contours of your face. The Mexico Cactus Mask was my first sheet mask experience so of course I had to take the obligatory face mask selfie. When you take the mask out of the package, it’s folded with a plastic sheet to make it easier to unfold. The sheet is actually quite, for lack of a better word, juicy. At least that’s the first word that came to mind. I actually used the excess serum left on my hands from applying the mask and patted it into my neck, chest, and back of my hands. After that all you do is wait for 20 minutes before removing and patting the rest of the serum into your skin. It actually felt really nice on my skin, very cooling, which I could appreciate because I used it after I’d done a T25 workout. I actually waited until the serum was fully absorbed and my skin didn’t feel moist anymore before applying my usual skincare treatments and moisturizer. I will say that my skin definitely felt more hydrated after using the mask, I almost felt like I didn’t need to apply another moisturizer on top. I’m not sure that my skin looked more ‘refreshed’, but it did feel it. When I woke up the next morning, my skin still felt good, but I’m not someone who wakes up feeling like my face is super dry either.  The Hanaka Botanic Treatment Reviving Mask was the next one that I tried. Same idea as the Mexico Cactus Mask in terms of use, however I did appreciate that the instructions on the packaging were in English and had pictures. The two featured ingredients here are aloe vera and hyaluronic acid, both which are great for adding moisture to the skin. The face mask was the same in concept, it was cut in slightly different places and was a little harder to ‘fit’ to my face. However, I did feel like this was slightly more hydrating than the Cactus Face Mask. My skin also looked much nicer in tone the next morning and along with that, any blemishes I had on my face actually looked more reduced too. I can’t say for sure if it was all the mask, but it was the only thing different in my usual night routine. The overall winner here is the Hanaka Botanic Treatment Reviving Mask. Although it was a little harder to fit, my skin looked better and felt more moisturized after using it. Both are nice masks, but the Hanaka is just a hair better.

Have you tried either of these masks before? What’s your favorite hydrating sheet mask?

*The April Mask Maven Bag was sent to me for review by Beautique, as always, all thoughts and opinions shared here are my own.

6 thoughts on “April Mask Maven Bag: Hydrating Sheet Masks Review

  1. Haha, your face with the mask on – you don’t look too pleased! Or, maybe you’re concentrating on a tv game show or something, lol.
    MBD masks are great because they’re so JUICY! I really like them, but I haven’t tried the cactus version yet.
    Great review! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Sheet Mask Review: The Brighteners | Always, Bree

Leave a Reply

