Skin S.O.S. with Aztec Secret Indian Healing Clay

My skin recently went through almost two weeks of non-stop craziness and I thought I’d share what I did to combat it. Just to preface, I have combination skin (oily T-zone and normal to dry everywhere else) that is somewhat acne prone. I changed up my skincare routine with a new moisturizer because I thought it would be a good addition to my nighttime routine, but nope. I ended up breaking out on my forehead and cheeks. A lot. I initially didn’t relate it to the moisturizer because I had just tested a new makeup product, but after two weeks I realized it was the only real difference in my usual routine and I had only used the makeup product once. I returned it for my usual Ole Henriksen Nurture Me moisturizer and this weekend my skin finally feels mostly recovered. One of the things I finally whipped out after a long retirement is the Aztec Secret Indian Healing Clay, an old go-to for breakouts and oily skin. The ‘secret’ is actually bentonite clay, which is supposed to work well at drawing impurities out of the skin (read more about that here). This is the cheaper alternative mask I’d mentioned when I did a mini review of the Glam Glow Supermud Clearing Treatment.

I’d actually first heard about this mask from a beauty YouTuber and because at the time my skin was even more oily than it is now, I wanted to give it a shot. I found it at Whole Foods. I remember I was looking at it and these two guys with gorgeous skin actually stopped to tell me how much they love this mask. That was enough to sell me. The big bold ‘FEEL YOUR SKIN PULSATE’, was a little scary, but not enough to deter me. It’s recommended to use Apple Cider Vinegar as a mixing agent, but if you have sensitive skin than water is a better bet. I like the Bragg’s Organic for this since I’m using it on my face. Here’s what I usually do:

1. Take 1 tablespoon of the clay powder and put it into a small bowl.

2. Add 1 tablespoon of apple cider vinegar.

3. Mix until well combined. I usually play around a little here, adding more powder or vinegar until it’s kind of a mousse-like texture. Like chocolate mousse, not hair mousse. Also, it tends to bubble a little, but don’t be alarmed.

4. Spread it on your face. I use an old foundation brush for ease. I tend to pack it on too, but you can go lighter.

Then I sit and wait. The first time I used this, it did ‘pulsate’. But, nothing crazy. Since then, the sensation barely registers anymore. I usually keep it on for 20 minutes, for sensitive skin they recommend 5-10 minutes. I use a washcloth to help loosen the clay and really clean it from my skin.

You will likely have some redness after use, definitely moisturize well after washing your face. It does fade after a few minutes. You will notice your pores are tighter, my blackheads are reduced and by the next day my breakouts look smaller as well. Your skin will also feel a bit drier so keep up with the moisturizer. I really like this mask, I only use it as an emergency intervention when my skin is misbehaving and it does help.

My other steps to combating a breakout are:

1. Go back to your basic routine. Ditch anything you might be using that’s newer in your regimen.

2. Lighten up your base. I stop with any liquid foundation and stick to spot concealing and powder foundation. Or skip makeup entirely.

3. Go full-fledged with the acne treatment. I love the La Roche-Posay Effaclar Duo (review here), I’ve been using a thin layer all over my face and after 3-4 days I’ve had no new breakouts and all the old ones are on the mend.

Have you tried the Aztec Secret Indian Healing Clay? What do you do to combat a breakout?

20 thoughts on “Skin S.O.S. with Aztec Secret Indian Healing Clay

    • Definitely look for it next time you’re at Whole Foods! It was under $10 when I bought it so super affordable. Haha yes, I’ve already started packing Ava’s stuff so I’m not rushing around at the last minute. I love how she gets a whole new summer wardrobe outta this and mommy is trying to buy nothing new for herself!

      Like

  1. I do NOT want any pulsating of my skin, thankyouverymuch!
    I’ve never heard of using apple cider vinegar as a base for makeup, how interesting – I think this mask would be too drying for my skin. Your RBF is not apparent in this photo!
    I like clay masks in the summer time, it helps curb excess sebum for me. My current favourite is from Clarins, called Pure & Radiant mask, it contains pink clay – but no claims of pulsating skin…
    Great tips!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have the same skin type! What’s really been helping me is 2 different versions of retinol that I use on different days ( one’s better for dryer skin days and one’s better for oilier days)..agree with ditching anything new if breakouts happen. I get distracted by new products but tried and true is the best for our skin types..the mask looks interesting! I’ll have to look for it.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love skincare! This post was fun to read and I liked the story of the two dudes that told you they loved the mask. Lol I’ve only tried the Queen Helene Mint Julep mask and I’m not sure if it helped or harmed my skin at the time. It was very long ago when my skin was at its worst! I do think the glam glow mask actually works and doesn’t irritate me. Thank goodness!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

