DIY denim cut-offs 

I’d mentioned in my Closet Staples Series that my favorite cut-offs were close to their last leg. They’re still okay for this summer, but after who knows. I decided to go ahead and make another pair because I have a knack for getting holes in my jeans in not so great places. Here’s what I did.

1. I measured the length of my old faves so that I could recreate them, but added an extra half inch for safety’s sake.

2. I turned my jeans inside out then marked off my measurement with chalk.

3. I read that cutting the leg in a slight ‘V’ is more flattering so I drew my cutting line at an angle on each side. (Source)

4. Go ahead and get cutting. It’s easier to cut through the sides of the jeans where the seams are when they’re turned inside out.

5. Decide if you want to cut them shorter or if you’re happy with the length. I opted to just throw them in the wash and decide afterwards because again, I always err on the side of caution.

6. Wash and wear! The fraying at the hem is after one wash. I tried these on and they’re slightly longer than the originals, but I’m okay with that. I figure after a few more washes they’ll be perfect and I don’t wanna end up with super booty shorts.

This is probably the easiest DIY ever and I feel like I’ll never need to buy cut-offs ever again!

Do you repurpose your old jeans?

16 thoughts on “DIY denim cut-offs 

  1. Pingback: Easy summer mom outfits  | Always, Bree

Leave a Reply

