Travel Makeup Essentials


I’ve been trying to slowly get things together for our Caribbean family vacation so that I’m not stressed out at the last minute packing. I decided to pick out the makeup I wanted to bring now and just keep everything in the bag until then. Some items I’m still using, but I just throw them back in the bag when I’m done. Since this is our first vacation with Ava, I don’t really imagine wearing makeup much anyway, but possibly in the evenings when we go to dinner or if we decide to do any off the beach activities. I don’t like to wear makeup when I’m going swimming or laying by the sand because it just doesn’t feel good to me. I really tried to pare down what I’m bringing as I’m someone known to over pack. I also tried to pick items I wouldn’t be devastated to lose or damage-I used to actually carry my makeup bag in my carry-on so that I wouldn’t end up with a shattered palette at my destination. But now that I’ll be carrying my carry on  along with a baby bag, I’ll probably put this in my luggage that we’ll be checking to lighten my load. I saw a video from Amelia Liana where she showed her shattered Charlotte Tillbury Bronze & Glow after traveling to New York and felt devastated for her. I know, dramatic, but ugh that thing is not only gorgeous, but it’s also not cheap. I’m going to try the keep the routine as simple as possible and not load up on the extra products I typically use at home.

My makeup travel bag is by Sonia Kashuk, I got mine a few years back, but I believe she makes the same ones just in updated prints. I also have the matching toiletry bag. It has a handle on top and zips closed all the way around the top. One side is for all your makeup, the other has a pocket and plastic protector to store your brushes. I just threw some in there for a visual, I won’t pack the actual brushes I’m bringing until the day before. I find that the bag is just enough space for my needs, I’ve brought more than this in the past and I’ve managed to get it all to fit.

For the face, I decided to bring my NARS Creamy Concealers in Custard and Ginger, if I get any more color than I have now I’ll definitely need Ginger to spot conceal. I’ll probably just be using powder foundation the whole time so I have my Laura Mercier Smooth Finish Powder Foundation, but just incase I decided to bring the Covergirl Ready Set Gorgeous foundation. I decided to take my Big Mama palette from the Balm because it has the Bahama Mama bronzer and Hot Mama blush which is a shimmery coral shade. There’s also the Sexy Mama powder, but I’m not particularly attached to it. As an easy, no brush required highlight I’m bringing a small sample sized Benefit Watt’s Up cream highlighter. Lastly, I had to bring my favorite summer blush, Milani’s Baked Blush in Luminoso.

Like I’d mentioned in my review, I’m taking along my L’Oreal La Palette Nude 1 for some easy eye looks. It’s mostly neutral browns with some taupes and it’s a good mix of shimmer and matte shadows. For brows, I’m bringing the Anastasia Brow Wiz in Medium Brown and the L’Oreal Brow Stylist Plumper in Medium Dark. I’ll likely just be using the Brow Stylist the whole time. I also packed two of the Rimmel Scandaleyes Shadow Sticks (a shimmery bronze and taupe) for quick washes of color on my lids. Incase I want to define my lash line I decided on the L’Oreal Infallible Pencil Liner in Black Brown and the Maybelline Lash Sensational Waterproof Mascara for my lashes. I think this is the first time in forever I’m not bringing liquid liner.

And for the lips, I decided on my go-to Tony Moly Bbo Bbo Honey Lip Balm and two lipsticks and two glosses. A pinky nude from the Maybelline Color Sensational Line called a Warm Me Up and a coral shade from Revlon called Coralberry. The NYX Butter Glosses I chose are Apple Strudel (peachy pink) and Vanilla Cream Pie (light pink), I’m actually thinking I’ll throw in the L’Oreal Extraordinaire Lip Color in Coral Encore as well.

I was thinking of just skipping the primer, but I might break down and just bring one since it’s going to be so hot there. But I have a feeling no primer is going to stand up to the tropical humidity and my oily T-zone. I have a small sample sized tube of the Hourglass Veil Primer that is so tiny it wouldn’t be a big deal.

Other than that, I think I’m good! What do you guys think? Is there anything else that is essential that I’m missing?

16 thoughts on “Travel Makeup Essentials

  1. SPF products in makeup as well as in general for the face and neck! Otherwise, I think this is a good bag of basics because when you’re on vacation it feels like getting ready takes so much longer and you want to just go out without makeup since it’s so hot and humid. Def bring the mini hourglass primer just in case!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I never bring any limited edition or special makeup on vacation with me for fear of them breaking or getting lost! I always ask myself: is this easily replaceable? before packing. I also focus on the smallest packaging as possible – that Milani baked blush, while I LOVE it, is kind of bulky for my liking. I usually bring one of my NYX blusher since they’re so compact. I also typically stick to concealer + powder foundation or BB cream. You’re bringing FIVE lip products? lol…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. It is amazing how much you can fit in that bag. I’m going on a trip soon too, so I might grab the same bag. I hope they still have it! I’ve found several ones with a pouch like that for my brushes but they’re huge and not travel friendly. Anyway great post as always!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

