Current life favorites: April 2015

This month, I wanted to share some favorites that are out of the beauty realm just to do something new. I love makeup, but sometimes it’s nice to write about the other things in life that I’ve been into lately. My blog is obviously very beauty heavy, but recently, I’ve just been wanting it to be a more a more ‘full’ reflection of me because honestly, this is the only place I really talk about makeup. I guess I just want to share the other things about me with all of you too. Of course, makeup will still factor heavily here; I do enjoy writing and sharing about the products I use, but all the ‘other’ is pretty fun too.

1. Quiet mornings to myself. It still only happens occasionally when I randomly wake up before M and Ava, but it’s pretty sweet having some quiet time in the mornings. I slip on my cozy socks, make my breakfast shake, and watch the morning news.

2. Happy sweaters. I got this sweater from J. Crew a few years ago, it’s not really something I wear anymore, but don’t have the heart (ha!) to give up. I was having one of those mornings that just felt kind of crappy, and I figured why not, maybe it’ll put me in a better mood. It did.

3. Afternoon tea. I’m a coffee person, but sometimes in the afternoon I do enjoy a nice hot cup of tea. In my Las Vegas mug, of course. It just feels like a nice, relaxing afternoon treat.

4. A gold framed mirror. It didn’t occur to me that the library would be closed on Patriot’s Day so when we drove out and found an empty parking lot, I didn’t want to just go back home. So we went to Ikea. I came across this gold framed mirror and snapped a pic to show M. I really want to put it in our ‘other’ living room (it’s supposed to be a ‘formal’ dining room, but we ain’t fancy like that), but it’s kind of turned into Ava’s playroom and it just wouldn’t work. I’m going to find a home for it somewhere around here, whether M likes it or not.

5. Red Queen. I recently finished Dark Places and thought it was okay, I still like Gone Girl better. I needed a new Nook book and decided on Red Queen. If you like YA novels, I definitely recommend this one, I’ve been reading this every night. It’s kind of a mix of the Hunger Games and the Selection Series plus Marvel super powers, to give you a feel for it. This is the first book in the series, and I’m bummed I’m going to have to wait for the next one to come out!

6. Shaun T. Okay, I’ve developed a bit of an obsession with Shaun. I’m planning on doing a fitness update once we complete the 5 week Alpha phase, but I will say now that things are going great and I actually look forward to my nightly T25 sweat session with M. That’s saying a lot for someone who has never really liked exercise. I’ve also been very satisfied with my results so far and I’m excited to see where I’ll be when I complete the 10 weeks.

Hope you enjoyed a little something new from me and some of the other life things I’m enjoying lately! What are you loving outside of beauty? Also please recommend any books I should download before I go on vacation, I need some airplane reading on the off chance Ava falls asleep for a couple of hours and doesn’t torture the other passengers!

17 thoughts on “Current life favorites: April 2015

  1. I love this. I just recently had a conversation with another blogger friend of mine about how my blog has become mainly a place for makeup/beauty, which is 100% fine with me, but isn’t necessarily the reason that I started blogging in the first place. I started for all of the “other” things in my life also. So seriously, such a relatable post 🙂

    Quiet mornings to yourself are just good for the soul. I’m a firm believer, and yay for tea! Happy Wednesday, Bree!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Alyssa! Although I love beauty and it’s a big part of my blog, it’s not the only thing I’m about and I just want to reflect that somehow once in awhile! I worry sometimes that everyone who reads is a little disappointed that a post isn’t beauty related, but I realized this is my creative outlet and I should do what makes me happy! I’m glad you can relate 🙂

      Like

  2. I’d kill to have a full length mirror – we have a large mirror in our bathroom (it’s almost wall to wall) but it cuts me off at the hips so I basically have to imagine what the bottom portion of my outfit looks like, lol.
    Is Gone Girl worth reading? I saw the movie – which I liked a lot – but wasn’t sure if I should still bother to read the book now that I know the spoilers.
    Ugh, your post reminds me that I really need to start working out again.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lol when I lived at home I used to stand on my bed to get the full effect because I never had a full length either, just the mirror over my dresser! Hmmmm I feel like if you’ve seen the movie it wouldn’t be worth it to read the book because you know the plot twist! Hahaha girl, you can do it!!! Starting is the hardest part. Then comes staying motivated.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yes, the boy and I discussed this tonight and we’re both going to get back to it. We were doing well but laziness got the better of us! I’m not even looking to lose weight, just want to tone and get more energy. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

