Spring smokey eyes & a pink pout 


I’ve been wanting to do a purple smokey eye with the Tartelette palette (review here) since I picked it up as I’m really trying to use more color in my makeup lately. The middle section of the palette isn’t one I use often and the plummy shades are really beautiful, just not ones I reach for on a daily basis.


I actually used one of the Rimmel Scandaleyes Shadow Stick in Bulletproof Beige as a base because I wanted to add a little shimmer into the look, but it actually made the lighter purple, Bestfriend, harder to blend. I used Bestfriend all over the lid then used a fluffy crease brush around the edges to soften them up. I used Bombshell, the eggplant shade, just along my upper lash line to darken up the look and to line the lower lash line. I actually used the warmer shades in the top row of the palette, Free Spirit on my brow bone and Force of Nature as a transition shade (for swatches see here). I used a navy liner to tightline my upper lash line and outer third of my lower lash line to keep my eyes from looking too closed off. I used the highlight shade from the Charlotte Tilbury Bronze & Glow Palette on the inner third of my lower lash line. I also added those Kiss Trio Lashes on the outer half of my lash line. When I do a smokey eye with darkness all over the lid, my lashes tend to get lost, so adding a few falsies helps to bring them back into focus. I stuck with pale pink blush from the Tarte Amazonian Clay Blush in Blissful and the Maybelline Color Sensational Rebel Bloom Lipstick in Blushing Bud. The lipstick is actually a lot brighter looking than what’s shown in the pictures.

This is a fun alternative to the usual black or brown smokey eye in the spring. Especially for the color-phobes like myself. I’m also delving more into my pink lipsticks instead of just the pinky nudes.

How are you mixing things up for spring?

In case anyone noticed in these pictures, yes, I did cut my hair! Nothing super short, I can still pull it back easily. The color is slightly lighter as well, I didn’t ask for it, but I think it just happened because she still has to process the rest of my hair even when I’m just doing the roots. I’m really happy with it and it’s so much lighter and easier to take care of now. Is anyone else getting a cut for the spring and summer?

26 thoughts on “Spring smokey eyes & a pink pout 

  1. I’m going to have to attempt to do this! I want to incorporate color a little more than I do! The middle row of the Tartelette palette is so beautiful, but it’s the least used row in the palette because color makes me (a little) nervous.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. So pretty!! I’ve been trying to resist purchasing the Tartelette and of course you post a beautiful look using it! The struggle is real! Love the new hair btw 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Love the smokiness but it’s not TOO heavy, ya know?
    I just got my hair trimmed last week! It’s been long overdue – got about 2 inches off and nobody noticed, lol.
    Do you colour your hair completely, or just highlights? I don’t colour my hair but I’m tempted to from time to time – my hairdresser says I shouldn’t because it has natural highlights in it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes it’s not as dramatic as a black smokey eye to kind of lighten up for spring! Hahaha I think I chopped off almost half of what length I had so it was hard to miss!
      I do an all over color, I’m trying to stay away from bleaching my hair for now. I started going lighter last fall so that by now it would be at the level I want. But I’m considering doing just a few highlights around my face when I get my next touch up. Although I don’t actually highlight my hair it surprisingly still has a lot of dimension despite doing an all over color! My hairdresser also discourages me from highlights because of the damage. But my hair is pretty much almost black naturally so that’s why I decided to just lighten it up all over.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

