A mom mani: Sally Hansen Insta-Dri Nail Color Review

Inspired by all the lovely ladies I’ve seen whose nails are always lacquered, I decided to  buy some nail polish. Not just any polish though, I wanted the quick dry kind. I’ve actually tried to paint my nails a couple of times with the Essie polishes that haven’t gone bad, but no-fail both times I ended up messing them up within half an hour of application. And by then either Ava was waking up or I had some other chore to do so I’d just remove it and move on. Even when Ava is napping I can’t just sit, I always have to be doing something. So after polishing I try to do a task that should be ‘safe’, but no I still end up smudging. I wanted to try the Rimmel one, but they don’t carry the polish at my Target so I decided to try the Sally Hansen Insta-Dri Nail Color.

I actually got two colors, but the first one I tried was Show Steel-er, a light blue grey shade. I like that the brush is rounded at the edges, but I do wish it was slightly less wide. The polish was a little on the thick side as well. I needed two coats to get an opaque layer so it felt like it was a little hard to spread evenly. It also is definitely not ‘insta-dri’. Even after 30 minutes of waiting for them to dry, they still had a bit of a tacky feel to them. I ended up nicking them a bit, but not so bad I had to remove re-do it. Once my nails were finally fully dry (honestly, I stopped timing after 30), I applied my top coat. I used the Essie base and top coat that I had, they’re okay, nothing special.

So this is how they turned out! Not too bad. I mean, I probably could have used regular nail polish because the dry time was pretty standard. Although it didn’t fully dry very quickly, it did seem to ‘set’ more quickly and I think that’s why the little nicks I got didn’t turn into full on smudging. It lasted for about 3 days before chipping which is pretty average for me. I don’t think I’ve ever gone a whole week without a chip.

I’m going to keep trying other quick dry nail polishes from other brands to see if there is something better out there. I want something that will at least be fully dry after 10 minutes max if possible. If you have recommendations I’d love to know!

10 thoughts on “A mom mani: Sally Hansen Insta-Dri Nail Color Review

    • I used to use it all the time, then I stopped when I was pregnant because of one of the ingredients. Also it starts to pull in on itself as it dries! But it seriously dries so fast and is so shiny.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Poshe top coat is where it’s at! Seche Vite causes polishes to pull back on me, and the bottle gets goopy and thick about half way through…
    I’m not a huge fan of the Sally Hansen Insta-dri – definitely give the Rimmel 60 Seconds a try, they’re better in my experience. Also the Wet n Wild Fast dry and Revlon Top Speed ones are good.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Try the Butter London Top Coat! Even their base coat which they call foundation is really good too. The nails turned out nice. I just can’t decide if they are gray blue or blue gray! They look different in every picture.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

