Face Mask Review: Hanaka Black Rose Acne Fighting Mask

I decided to try the Hanaka Black Rose Acne Fighting Mask during my two week acne fiasco last month. A new pimple was popping up almost daily for two weeks, so I had high hopes for this one. This mask is one from the April Mask Maven Bag I received from Beauteque for review.

This is the only mask I’ve tried thus far that wasn’t a sheet mask. I was assuming that it was going to be a black clay type mask, but when I squeezed it out of the packaging it had a sticky, gel-like consistency like that of a peel-off mask. It wasn’t easy to get this stuff out of the package without making a complete mess, I wish it came in a squeeze tube instead. It’s also very sticky and applying it to my face in an even, thin layer was difficult. I left it on for about 20 minutes to dry, it gave me that typical ‘tight’ peel-off mask feeling.

The directions on the packaging are not clear on removal, other than to do it ‘gently’. The Beautique insert directs you to remove it with water. The front of the package shows a little picture of the ‘acne’ being pulled from the skin, so I thought I’d try to peel it off since it seemed to much like that type of mask.

Ouch. Yah it hurt. I started around the edges of my face, but I had to stop because it was so painful. I did try to peel it off my nose to see if it would remove some of my blackheads, but no dice. I removed the rest with a washcloth and warm water. My skin was a bit red and irritated, but that did subside after a few minutes. I was a little disappointed it didn’t remove any of my blackheads.

Over the next few days, I noticed no change in my skin or my breakouts. I was still popping up with pimples after its use. The reason I waited to do this review is because I wanted to give it another chance since I had more than enough product left over, but honestly this isn’t a product I feel is worth the effort. It’s just so hard to apply and it didn’t really make a difference when I was actively breaking out.

The Hanaka Black Rose Acne Mask is a skip for me, if you’ve used it before and had good (or bad) experiences with it, share them here!

*The Hanaka Black Rose Acne Mask was sent to me for review by Beauteque in their April Mask Maven Bag, as always, all thoughts and opinions shared here are my own.

20 thoughts on “Face Mask Review: Hanaka Black Rose Acne Fighting Mask

  1. Ouch! What was IN this stuff? Crazy glue? I’ve learned to stay away from peel off type masks nowadays – I used to LOVE them but my teenage skin is vastly different than my adult skin! Was it weird to have a black mask on your face?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hahahha it was a little trippy, I felt like I rubbed tar all over my face! And yah, I remember I used to use this cucumber one all the time way back when. That one was not even bothersome to peel. Actually, I think I got more of a kick out of it than using it for it’s efficacy. But yah, I just can’t anymore.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. OMG that sounds terrible! April was a horrible into for my skin too. I was in panic mode to get it back on track. I’ll be posting that review very soon because I want people to beware of these products. Hope that everything is looking better now dear!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. That mask looks painful just looking at it on yOur fingertip. Have you ever tried Waleda Calendula body wash for babies? It works awesome as a face wash for breakouts. I figured since your a mommy you may have some in your home and can give it a whirl if your interested 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

