Shop my stash: Urban Decay Naked Basics Palette

Joy from Styled with Joy inspired me to whip out my Urban Decay Naked Basics Palette after a long hiatus. I originally picked this up because of the rave reviews and to use as a travel palette with all the essentials for simple eye looks. Urban Decay got it right naming it ‘Naked Basics’, it really has all the essential neutral shades for day or night.

The packaging is small and thin, making it ideal for throwing in your purse if you like to touch up your eye shadow or for travel. The cover has a kind of ‘rubbery’ feel to it that I find tends to pick up shadow residue easily, just FYI if that kind of thing bothers you. There is a mirror that spans the area of the cover and the names of each shadow are printed under each pan.

Venus is the only non-matte shade in the palette, it’s a very pale champagne satin finish that works well as an inner corner highlight. Foxy is a matte pale yellow that I love as a brow highlight. Walk of Shame is a pale nude, it reminds me of putty, that I love as a lid color. Naked 2 is a taupe brown transition shade and Faint is a nice warm brown, great for adding depth to the crease or outer V. Crave is a matte black that I like to use as liner or for some drama in a smokey eye. All of the shadows have great pigmentation and are quite creamy in consistency, except I find Foxy to be a bit dry and Crave to be a powdery. If you’re using Crave, I’d either do the eye first before your base or use a tissue to cover your undereyes area because of the fall out.

This palette is probably the only one I own where I typically tend to use every single color when I do my eyes and I don’t really need to pull from other palettes to complete the look. I’m glad I pulled it out again because I forgot how good it is!

Do you have the Naked Basics? What’s your favorite way to use it?

22 thoughts on “Shop my stash: Urban Decay Naked Basics Palette

  1. Thank you for mentioning my blog and linking it! I was definitely pleasantly surprised to see that and I really appreciate it! ๐Ÿ™‚ I love the Naked Basics Palette. I hit pan on Naked 2 bc it is my favorite cool toned transition color. I mix the two light matte colors and place that on the lid. Then I highlight with Venus. And to deepen it up, I use the darker brown on the outer V and black as a liner as well! Lovely makeup look. And it’s true. I can use it and not need any other colors.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve been looking at this little guy for a while. Do you have the Naked Basics 2 as well? I’ve been debating on one of those or the Lorac PRO To-Go which just has three shades, but perfect for travel.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I really wanted to get it when I first heard about it – since it’s the world’s most boring looking palette, which means that it’s probably a workhorse. However, when I went to swatch it at Sephora, half of the shades didn’t show up on me! I would probably only really use Naked2 and Faint with any regularity – so I passed on it (too bad they don’t sell them individually). But I’m glad you’re able to pull this out and enjoy it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Wow I’m surprised they didn’t show up well on you! I think they translate better on the eyes than by swatch? I’m probably an NC35 (maybe more now that I’m a little more than) and I find them to work well on me!

      Liked by 1 person

      • It’s true, swatch on my hand is different from my face! My hands are a bit darker than my face. I’m around NC25. The colours just seemed to disappear when I swatched them! Maybe one day I will try again.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I bought this palette a while ago originally to start experimenting to find an everyday look but I use Venus for inner corner, WOS for brow bone and Naked 2 for eyebrows. I’m hitting pan on Naked 2 tho. What would you recommend for eyebrows?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

