NYX Proof It! Waterproof Mascara Topcoat Review

I was excited to see the NYX Proof It! Waterproof Mascara Topcoat on the shelves at Target the other day because mascara smudges under my eyes are my biggest makeup foe. Regardless of the formula being waterproof, I still to some degree get some smudges. The one product I’ve found to combat this is the Clarins Double-Fix (review here), which is a similar product that will turn any mascara waterproof after application and prevents the ‘panda-eyed’ look. Except it’s also more than twice the price of what NYX is offering ($24 versus $7.99).

The NYX Proof It! is essentially the same kind of product. You apply a coat or two after applying your mascara and voila! Your mascara should be waterproofed, long-lasting, and smudge-less. The product comes in a typical mascara tube with a thin, skinny brush. The mascara itself is a semi-opaque gel, it’s a little difficult to even tell if there’s any product on the brush when you remove it from the tube. The packaging here is pretty average, nothing mind-blowing.

So how does it perform? Pretty well actually! I didn’t go swimming with this stuff on, but I do get significantly less smudging when I use it with both regular and waterproof mascara and it helps to hold a curl. I did notice that if you don’t brush it through well, you can kind of see the product dry onto your lashes. I did do some moderate to full on sweaty workouts wearing this and my mascara held up despite the sweat dripping down my face. I did notice some flaking though, but only after a workout (I guess from all the jumping around doing T25). I do still get a hint of smudging, but not the crazy raccoon eyes I’d typically get. I do feel like the Clarins Double-Fix has a superior performance to this (no residue, flaking, and even less smudging), but for about 8 bucks a pop, this stuff isn’t bad! It’s easier to remove than the Double-Fix despite it being waterproof.

I think the NYX Proof It! is definitely worth a try. I still love the Double-Fix, but I’ll keep using this more on a daily basis and reserve the Double-Fix for special occasions. Have you tried this product yet? What did you think?

P.S. Sorry for the late post, we just got back last night after the travel day from HELL. Needless to say, I was expecting to have time yesterday to get this post ready for today, but let’s just say our return flights did not go as smoothly as our departure. More on that later, but I just wanted to say I’m happy to be home and I’ll be catching up the best I can this week with reading everyone’s posts, comments, and putting up my own. It may take me awhile to get back on schedule so please bear with me! Hope you all are having a great start to the week!

13 thoughts on “NYX Proof It! Waterproof Mascara Topcoat Review

  1. Welcome back! I was wondering where my 8am does of Bree was this morning. Glad you made it back safe and sound.
    I’m so glad you posted this! I’m trying the bareMinerals one right now and planning a review for next week. I just might have to try the NYX one next (I hope they sell this here in Canada!) I hope more drugstore brands start releasing these types of mascara top coats!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Serious ‘No Makeup’ Makeup | Always, Bree

  3. Pingback: Mascara topcoat: Clarins vs bareMinerals | stash matters

  4. Pingback: Ulta Shopping Trip: Waterproof Makeup | The Ginger Life

  5. Pingback: Current favorites: January 2016 | Always, Bree

Leave a Reply

