Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powder in Diffused Light Review

After trying the Besame French Vanilla Powder (review here), I decided I wanted a get a light yellow pressed powder to set my under eye concealer because it’s less messy and faster than a loose powder. Also, I wasn’t happy with the finish of the Besame powder. I’ve eyed the Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powder in Diffused Light for awhile, and after seeing it on The Beauty Look Book during the Sephora VIB sale, I finally made the plunge. It’s described as a “soft, warm pale yellow powder” that is supposed to “reduce redness, eliminate shine, and give skin clarity”.

I like the packaging of this powder-it has a kind of sleek and modern look to it. It does catch fingerprints easily because of the shiny finish. There’s a good sized mirror underneath the lid. I also feel like it has good weight and feels sturdy in my hands. The powder itself is quite light and finely milled. In the pan it looks like there might be a slight sheen to it, but it doesn’t really translate to the skin. I’ve been using it to set my under eye area and it does a great job. Although it doesn’t give as much of a brightening effect as the Besame powder, it doesn’t leave my under eye area looking dry and ‘crepey’ like that powder did. I’ve also used it to set the rest of my face if I’m using liquid foundation and it works well for that too. Many setting powders make my skin look a little too dry or flat, the finish of this is just really natural. It does dull down any redness on my face, but it doesn’t obliterate it. And while it does reduce shine in my T-zone after application, it’s not super long-lasting. I usually end up blotting a few hours in, but that’s pretty typical for me.

I actually ended up bringing it with me while on vacation because I had just started using it before we left and was really enjoying it. Even though I only used powder foundation during the trip, I would still dust it all over my face because it does give that ‘soft focus’ effect that I love about the Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powders.

  Ultimately, I do recommend this powder as a general setting powder for all over your face if you want something natural that will brighten your complexion a bit. If you’re looking for extreme oil control, this might not be for you. If you’ve tried this powder out, what did you think of it?

19 thoughts on “Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powder in Diffused Light Review

  1. I have been wanting to try this for the longest of time:) I am a little afraid as I have oily skin and my face would get too shiny with this. Would you recommend it?xo

    Like

  2. Pingback: Serious ‘No Makeup’ Makeup | Always, Bree

  3. Pingback: Current favorites: September 2015 | Always, Bree

Leave a Reply

