2 Ways to Wear a Plain White Tank


I know I sound like a broken record, but I really can’t get enough of basics when it comes to clothing. My girlfriend got me a blue pleated skirt for my birthday, something I never would have got for myself. Not because it’s not cute, I just tend to buy more casual clothes that I’d wear on a daily basis and I don’t wear skirts that often. But, that’s what I love about other people gifting me clothing, it breaks me out of my norm. I wanted to get a more fitted tank to wear with it that wasn’t the spaghetti strap kind that I usually layer under sweaters. Target to the rescue again! I found a basic cotton tank by Mossimo for $12.99. I liked the slightly racer back shape to it and the fabric is also nice and thick. I’ll probably get it in black too, now that I know that I like it. I didn’t have time to try it on in the store, they only had mediums left and I wanted to make sure it fit well before buying more. As soon as I tried it on at home, I envisioned another outfit I’d likely put together with it. Anyway, I figured I’d share them, both outfits for going out, but one more classic and the other more edgy.


First up is the more classic look, and the reason I bought the tank in the first place. The blue skirt is pleated at the waist and drapes beautifully. It actually has a rose pattern imprinted into the fabric and laser cut detailing at the hem. She bought it at Francesca’s. Since the skirt is so full, I wanted a more fitted top to go with it to balance it out. I paired it with peep-toe heels from Zara, they’re actually raffia with patent leather edging and black buckle. I accessoried with a black collar necklace and a black clutch to keep with the blue/black/white color palette.

The second look is more edgy, I paired the tank with distressed boyfriend jeans and a leather jacket. For accessories I chose a pretty hefty chain collar necklace with clear rhinestones since the overall look is pretty basic I thought it would be nice to wear a big statement necklace with it. I cuffed up the jeans to add the black patent heeled sandals I recently got from Nordstrom BP. And for a fun clutch, I picked a snakeskin print envelope clutch to complete the look.

What basics can you never have enough of?

16 thoughts on “2 Ways to Wear a Plain White Tank

  1. Love how the white tank works with both the looks. Lately I’ve been wearing my structured black tanks with different looks all the time so I agree with you on having how having great basics can make your wardrobe! Great post.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Love that skirt! What a nice friend to buy you that for your birthday! My friends are always the ones challenging me to get outside of my comfort zone when it comes to clothes – they envision me in stuff that I can’t even imagine, and I often end up really liking the outfits! I also LOVE those black patent sandals you are wearing with the jeans. Such a classic – and looks comfy too.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Loving both these outfits! I’m sure I have that snakeskin clutch! I was given it so I have no idea where its from but I love it!
    I couldn’t live without a good fitting pair of jeans 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

