Cover FX Mattifying Primer Review

I mentioned that I picked up the Cover FX Custom Cover Drops a few weeks ago and I’ve been wanting to try them mixed with a primer. My all-time fave is the Hourglass Veil Mineral Primer (review here), but that stuff is just too expensive for that. I actually wanted to get the illuminating primer from the brand, but when I tried it on my forearm there were tiny shimmers in it (I hate shimmer in any base makeup products). I figured since summer is pretty much here, I’d try the Cover FX Mattifying Primer to combat my oily T-zone. I almost got it in the full-size, but my cousin spotted the travel size in the ‘impulse aisle’ while we waited in line. I figured it made more sense to get the smaller one to test it out first. It’s supposed to “keep skin matte while minimizing the appearance of fine lines and pores”.

The packaging is a squeeze tube container with a small tip to make it easy to control how much product you dispense. The primer has a gel like consistency that feels smooth as you rub it into your skin, but not like a silicone based primer. It still has a moisturizing feel to it and it absorbs nicely. I’ve been on more of a powder foundation kick lately, and I do find that it helps to apply it more smoothly. I also think my makeup looks better when I use it and that the texture of my skin is improved. Unfortunately, I don’t feel like it’s mattifying effects are all that great. The area around my nose starts to get oily after about 2-3 hours of wear, which for a primer specifically made for this issue, seems to fall short. This primer has salicylic acid in it to help with acne fighting, but I can’t say my skin was much better from using it.

How it looks from the start. I meant to take pictures throughout the day, but it just didn’t happen. :/

So while my makeup looks great after I first put it on, I’m not going to repurchase since it doesn’t really do the job it’s meant to do. I’ll continue to use it because it’s not so bad that I feel the need to return it. I’m thinking of trying the new Makeup Forever primer that’s for mattifying once this runs out. If you’ve tried it yet, let me know if I should try it!

10 thoughts on “Cover FX Mattifying Primer Review

  1. This is nuts because I am trying out a CoverFX primer right now too, and I’m not all that into primers at all but I literally found it in a pile while cleaning. I don’t remember buying it – I’m not sure where it came from. It was sealed and everything, lol. Maybe I have a makeup fairy that brings me stuff.
    Anyway, I’m still undecided about the CoverFX primer so far – will probably do a review soon on it. Mine is the SPF protection version, not the mattifying one. It’s sucky when a product doesn’t perform as promised.
    Funny also, I got a deluxe same of the Hourglass primer and I did NOT like that one bit! I tried and tried but it made my face look worse. I gave it to my friend who loves it. So odd.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you for doing this review because I was considering picking this up, but I’ve completely changed my mind! I agree, the Hourglass is seriously the best primer I’ve ever tried. – I actually tried the Makeup Forever Mattifying Step 1, and have been meaning to do a review. Let’s just say do NOT purchase it. I did a test by putting it on half my face with a few different primer and it did not make a difference on each side. My Rimmel Stay Matte did better on its own. -_-

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Make Up Forever Step 1 • Mattifying Primer | i am beauty bee xo

  4. Pingback: Summer 2015 Makeup Routine | Always, Bree

Leave a Reply

