Current obsession: Layering necklaces (and more basics)


I follow HRH Collection on Instagram, an LA based jewelry brand. The designer, Alex, makes these necklaces she calls ‘T-shirt chains’ and I just love the way they look. They’re basically layering necklaces that she tucks into her T-shirts for a hint of sparkle. I’m considering buying a couple from her line, but until then, I hit everyone’s favorite super cheap jewelry mecca, Forever 21. I picked up a couple of their layering necklaces to help jazz up my basic outfits.

The first is my favorite, it’s a double chained necklace with a silver chain and gold pendants. The gold is matte, giving it a softer look. These chains connect together, making it an easy layered look. It was $5.90.

The second are actually two separate chains sold together for $6.90. Both are gold, one is a lariat style with a rhinestone at the junction and a moon pendant hanging from the end. To be honest, I’m not all that into the moon, but I plan to tuck it into my shirt anyway. The chain in this is also like a station necklace with gold beads along its length. The second chain is plain gold with a thin bar pendant hanging from the end. The pendant has dotted detailing which I actually thought was a nice touch. I pictured them both ways, with the lariat tucked in and out to give you an idea of how they look on.


Yes, I got more basic tanks at H&M. It was 2 for $10 and a major impulse buy while waiting at the cash wrap. But, I know I’ll wear them a ton so I’m glad I got them. I always size up at H&M because no fail their clothes tend to shrink in the wash. I got both tanks in a medium, assuming they’ll shorten up. Anyway, my basic outfit consisted of the white tank, dark grey jeans, a utility jacket, and a Rebecca Minkoff crossbody. And the double stranded necklace with the gold bar pendants.

This is what the striped one looks like incase you’re in the market for more basic tanks.

The layering necklaces add just a little something more to an otherwise very plain outfit. Still basic, but a little more fun.

What accessories have you been loving lately?

18 thoughts on “Current obsession: Layering necklaces (and more basics)

  1. Pingback: Current non-beauty favorites: May 2015 | Always, Bree

  2. Pingback: A summer day to night outfit ft. the boyfriend jean. | Always, Bree

  3. Pingback: BaubleBar Buys: Necklaces | Always, Bree

Leave a Reply

