CoverGirl The Super Sizer Waterproof Mascara Review

I was pretty psyched when I saw an ad for the new CoverGirl The Super Sizer Mascara. The Lash Blast Volume, and more recently the Full Lash Bloom, have been favorites of mine, so of course I wanted to give this one a go.

From the brand’s website:

The Super Sizer by LashBlast Mascara gives you 400% more corner-to-corner volume for full, fanned out lashes. Our amazing Lash Styler transforms even small lashes — just twirl as you apply it to your lashes for an instantly Super Sized lash look. Opthalmologically tested, suitable for those who wear contact lenses.

When they decided to call this the Super Sizer, they must have figured they’d better make the tube super sized as well. It almost makes me wonder if there’s more product in it or if they just decided to waste some plastic. I’m not one to touch up mascara, so I don’t need to worry about carrying it around, but just thought I’d put that out there. The wand is not what I would have expected from the name, I thought it would also be large to match. It’s actually quite thin and the bristles get longer towards the tip, the total reverse of most wands. It has very short, sparse plastic bristles and the brush head slightly angles where it attaches to the ‘stem’. The directions say to slightly twirl the wand during application, which is another new twist CG threw in. The formula here is actually more wet than I typically like because I tend to get more smudges. I got the mascara in Blackest Black and in waterproof.

I initially did not like the wand when I started using the Super Sizer because I feel like it didn’t give me much lash separation. And the whole ‘twirling’ of the wand during application was just awkward to me. But, the more I use this mascara, the more the wand and the technique are growing on me. I start by placing the wand at the base of my lashes, then giving it a twist as I brush it up my lashes. I find that it helps to really get a good coating of mascara at the base and the bristles seem to really catch onto the lashes to continue to coat my lashes to the ends. I thought I’d just stop bothering with the twirling, but I’m liking the results it gives. I feel like I get good volume and length after two coats, I don’t bother with a third because it starts to get a little clumpy (since the bristles don’t give good separation), but you could probably go in with a lash comb between coats if you wanted to build more. And despite the wet formula, I surprisingly get very little smudging from this mascara (score!). After about 3-4 hours, I start to see a little darkness developing, but it’s not too bad, just a bit at the very outer edge of my lower lash line.

All in all, I really like the Super Sizer! Even more than the Maybelline Lash Sensational, which has been my running favorite since it came out (I think last year?). I was pretty skeptical about this one because it seemed so gimmicky, but I really think it does the job! Maybe 400% more volume is an overstatement, but I’d give it at least half that. If you’ve been hesistant to try this, I encourage you to give it a go and let me know what you think!

 

12 thoughts on “CoverGirl The Super Sizer Waterproof Mascara Review

  1. I saw this at the store recently and I’m intrigued by the twirling aspect. So you just have to manually twirl the brush? It’s not some self-twirling mechanism? Remember those spin mascaras that were the rage not long ago? I was hoping it was something like that lol. 😛
    This really gave you impressive length and good volume! It’s on my future mascara purchase for sure – I basically will try EVERY CoverGirl mascara they release, ha!

    Liked by 1 person

    • You have to manually twirl, I remember the mechanical ones but never tried one! That actually would have been pretty cool if it did, sometimes I get a little lazy with it! #firstworldproblems

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

