Summer Blush Favorites

I wanted to share some of my favorite summer blushes, the ones that I’ve been reaching for the most since the weather has started to warm up. Like everyone else, I tend to gravitate more towards the peachy, orange tones during the season and for the most part they’re the only colors I want to wear on my cheeks. These shades just make me feel brighter and strangely feel more fun. It must be true that we associate certain colors with certain feelings and these blushes have me channeling the beach, sand, backyard BBQs, and feeling the warmth of the sun on my face.

Clockwise from top left: MAC Modern Mandarin, MAC Immortal Flower, MAC Warm Soul, Tarte Dollface, Milani Coral Cove

The first two blushes I wanted to share are both from the MAC Tres Cheek Collection that came out sometime in 2012, and unfortunately are limited edition. But, you all know how MAC loves to re-promote products so I’m sure they’ll both make their way back onto the counters at some point. I picked up Immortal Flower first, it’s a gorgeous light peachy shade that has a satin finish. I remember being a little worried it wasn’t going to show up much on my skin tone, but after trying it on I was hooked. It actually adds a nice brightness to the cheeks and has great pigmentation. I’ve been reaching for this one most days as of late. Modern Mandarin (also a satin finish) I ended up getting a few days later because I couldn’t stop thinking about the amazing orange color. I didn’t pick it up the initially because I was intimidated by the color, but since it was limited edition, I was worried I’d never see it again (at the time I didn’t realize MAC did the whole re-promote thing). I’m so glad I did because it’s one of my favorites. You definitely need to start slow when applying it, but it definitely doesn’t apply as strong as you would expect. It’s such a gorgeous pop of color that fits perfectly in the summer. The next blush is the most recent addition to my stash, MAC Mineralize Blush in Warm Soul (review here). I love the golden beige sheen it gives when you have a summer tan. When I’m going for a pink cheek, I’ve been reaching for Dollface from the Tarte Amazonian Clay 12 Hour Blush collection. It’s a light pink shade that give a nice flush of color to the cheeks. Lastly is the Milani Rose Powder Blush in Coral Cove. This one you definitely need to use a light hand with, I usually end up blending it a little with my foundation brush after applying because it’s so pigmented. The color is amazing and bright, I like it when I’m going easier on the eyes and lips, but still want something to stand out.

I wore Modern Mandarin today with neutral eyes and lips. I noticed it’s back on the MAC website, I have no idea if it’s permanent or another re-promote. If you’re looking for a fun summer blush that’s a little out of the norm, definitely check it out!

What blush are you wearing the most this summer?

31 thoughts on “Summer Blush Favorites

  1. I love MAC Modern Mandarin! Damn MAC and their LE.
    I’m putting the Milani Coral Cove on my wish list – I already have a couple other shades from the rose blushes on my wish list! 😛
    Lately I’ve been wearing Nars Luster which is described as a “golden apricot” – it’s got a pretty sheen that’s not glittery. Makes me look like I got some sun.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Modern Mandarin looks so pretty on you! I think Dollface is my favorite out of the 5 though. Did you hear that Milani will be releasing a LE blush for summer in that rose type packaging!?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! Yes I read that on Nouveau Cheap, the LE ones will have some shimmer to them! They’re already out in some drugstores, I’m resisting hunting them down as I type.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Yeeessss go get you some blush! I actually wasn’t always so into blush until a couple of years ago, but now it’s one of my favorite things to buy!

      Like

Leave a Reply

