Current favorites: June 2015


June has been a whirlwind, I’ve been so busy that couldn’t even manage to get a post up last week! I did want to quickly share my recent faves before the month comes to an end.

1. Maybelline Age Rewind Concealer. I put my Nars Creamy Concealer to the side this month and have been addicted to using this stuff again. It’s just more lightweight and easy for the summer months when you don’t want to layer so much on your face. I’m really happy I pulled his out again because I’ve forgotten how good it is! I’ve been using Medium and the Neutralizer (review here) shades for a little bit of a brightening effect.

2. Cover FX Custom Cover Drops. I wasn’t super stoked on this product when I did my review and honestly I’m still not sure that I’d repurchase. But, I have been using the heck out of this month to more as a shade corrector when I use foundation.

3. Peter Thomas Roth Retinol Fusion PM. My skin has never been better thanks to PTR. I won’t say more other than you can read my rave review here.

4. Coconut oil. I ran out of my body butter and remembered I had a jar of coconut oil sitting in my kitchen cupboard. I’d been planning to use it to cook, but I figured, may as well try it as a body moisturizer and see what the hype is all about. Well, I’m joining the bandwagon. It’s definitely keeping my skin way more moisturized and I feel like the jar will last me forever. I tend to shower at night then apply this because it does take a bit to fully absorb into the skin.

5. Sally Hansen Airbrush Legs. Despite a week in the Caribbean, my legs still are a bit paler than my arms. I also tend to get more sun on my arms just because I’m wearing sleeveless tops during the day and my legs just don’t get the same amount of sun since I’m not laying out. I also ended up getting some spider veins on my thighs when I was pregnant from being on my feet so much while I was working. Sally to the rescue! I mix this with lotion and smooth it onto my legs to get everything looking more even and tan. Make sure to put this on before getting dressed and give it a few minutes to dry down.

I hope you all have had a great June! It was a busy one for us, with Father’s Day and M’s birthday both falling within last week, I pretty much put blogging on the back burner. I’m hoping to be more consistent next month with posting, reading, and commenting!

19 thoughts on “Current favorites: June 2015

    • It’s so good I don’t even bother with anything high end lately for my undereyes! I use the Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powder in Diffused Light, it has a pale yellow tone that helps to brighten the area.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I, too, have recently hopped on the coconut oil bandwagon! My nose has been dry these days so I have been using it to combat scabby, bloody nose-ness (I know gross right? Sorry)! It works like magic! I also use it as a body moisturizer and on certain dry parts on my face (doesn’t break me out and works like a charm)!

    Like

    • Definitely give it a try! It’s awesome I’m loving it! The side of the jar actually says you can melt it to use as a body oil, but I find that the heat from my hands is enough to melt it quickly for application. Lol and if you find its not your thing as a moisturizer, you can always cook with it or make a body scrub 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Nice to see a post from you! I hope you’re enjoying your summer. 🙂
    I’m so glad you’re enjoying the PTR retinol! 😀
    Silly me, I bought a jar of coconut oil last night to use as a hair mask and I have yet to crack it open! Doesn’t it feel greasy on your body?
    I really must try the Sally Hansen airbush legs – everyone raves about it. I usually just do a self tan with Jergens on my legs – because like you, mine are a paler shade than my arms. 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, I am! Of course now our laptop is broken so I had to put a halt on posting again :/
      I’m scared of using the coconut oil on my hair because the thought of having to wash it out! But I bet it would be amazing! It does leave a greasy feel but that doesn’t bother me at night, in the day I’d use regular lotion to avoid the oiled up look! Let me know if the Sally Hansen works out for you!
      Hope you’re enjoying the summer as well 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh you use coconut oil by itself too… I’ve read so many articles that it’s getting super popular in Japan, but I’ve never tried that way. It’s time to try it, thanks for great review!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

