Chanel Double Perfection Lumiere Powder Foundation Review

I’d been using the Laura Mercier Smooth Finish Foundation Powder (review here) since last year and was looking for something new for the summer. Something more matte for my combination skin and a darker shade since I’d be getting more tan. After browsing online extensively, I finally settled on the Chanel Double Perfection Lumiere Powder Foundation. It was between this and the Dior powder foundation, but I felt like I found a better shade match from Chanel. I’ve tried the Makeup Forever Duo Mat (which I’ve repurchased many times), the Cover FX Pressed Mineral Foundation (which I also like, but not enough to repurchase), the MAC Mineralized Skin Finish Natural (looks awesome, but no oil control), and Bare Minerals (too messy). The Duo Mat is probably my favorite of all in terms of oil control, but I was never totally happy with the shade match (I wear 207 for reference) and sometimes, a girl just wants to try something new. I’ve been using the Double Perfection for around two months now, so I feel ready to give a review on it.

The packaging here I like aesthetically, but honestly, it’s just a little too bulky for my taste. Instead of the typical round compact, Chanel decided to do a rectangular shape with the powder next to the sponge. It’s nice that it lends itself to a huge mirror under the cover, but really it’s kind of huge. Here’s a picture of the compact next to a typical one. I don’t usually bring a powder to touch up unless I’m going to some special event, but if I’m going to a special event I’m probably going to carry a clutch and this would take up some valuable real estate. Otherwise, I like the shiny compact with the classic Chanel logo. The dust bag I honestly don’t care for much, it does help keep things clean, but I usually forget to replace it afterwards. There’s also a little insert in the box with some information on the product.

I use my e.l.f. kabuki brush to apply the foundation after my concealer. This stuff can definitely get messy because the powder is so soft, as soon as I dip my brush into the pan it goes flying. It gives a good medium coverage as a powder foundation, you can use it wet with a sponge, but I haven’t tried it that way. I like that it doesn’t give an overly powdery matte look-which is something I’d grown to dislike about the Duo Mat. I do use it with a primer, I think it acts a a good base for the powder to ‘stick’ to and helps it to apply more smoothly.

It’s definitely a foundation that starts to look better as it settles into my skin and kind of melds with the natural oils of my face. I can get a good 2-3 hours of wear before I need to touch up in my T-zone, longer if I set it with the Urban Decay All Nighter Setting Spray. It actually holds up quite well everywhere else on my face that’s ‘normal’, this would work awesome on someone with all over normal skin who doesn’t need a ton of coverage. I typically use this when I’m just out for a few hours with Ava running errands and I don’t need it to last too long. By the 5 hour mark without a touch-up, the coverage has faded around my nose, on my cheeks it’s hanging in there. I’ve also used this to touch up when wearing liquid foundation and I think it works well for that, especially in places where the coverage starts to fade. I wouldn’t use it to set a liquid because I just feel like it’s too pigmented for that and would just change the look of what I’d used in the first place.

L to R: Initial application; 3 hours later; 5 hours later

So let’s get to the breakdown.

Packaging: 3/5

It’s asthetically pleasing, but functionally annoying. If it was the typical powder compact size I’d give it a 5.

Performance: 3/5

I love the more natural finish and medium coverage despite it being powdery. It doesn’t hold up against oily skin for too long, but it’ll get you through a few errands. It also works nicely as a setting powder.

Price: 3/5

I get it, it’s Chanel. It’s pricey at $55. I think if I could get a few more hours of wear it would be worth it, but since it doesn’t hold up against my oily T-zone long enough I’m probably not going repurchase.

Overall rating: 3/5

I’d say if you have normal to dry skin, this would be worth a try. But for oily to combo skin, it may not be right for you.

I’m planning on trying the It Cosmetics powder foundation that a couple of people have recommended here next, but I want to go through one of the others I have already before getting another. If you have any other recommendations, I’d love to know!

On a sidenote, I’ve been MIA for quite some time because we thought our laptop was broken. Come to find out, the outlet we usually have it plugged into just needed to be reset. Then Ava came down with hand, foot, & mouth disease (not pleasant), so that held me up a few days longer. She’s pretty much recovered and her usual happy self. I hope you all have been doing well and again, thanks for reading!

10 thoughts on “Chanel Double Perfection Lumiere Powder Foundation Review

  1. Pingback: Current favorites: September 2015 | Always, Bree

Leave a Reply

