Summer 2015 Makeup Routine


I’ve been waking up ridiculously early (for me) lately and thought I’d share my summer makeup routine. This is what I do and use on a daily basis, with the occasional variation depending on how much time I have before Ava wakes up. I didn’t realize how many steps it actually takes me to ‘put my face on’, but it really is faster than it seems from all the pictures. I’m actually using less product than I had been in the winter, if you can believe that! The base makeup is just lighter, which feels so much better when it’s hot and humid (it’s been in the 90s here as of late).

So, here we go.

1. I always start with a primer in the summer, mostly in my T-zone to keep my makeup from melting away. Although I’m not super impressed with the Cover FX Mattifying Primer (review), I’m using it up anyway so I don’t waste it. 2. Then I use my fingers to apply the It Cosmetics Your Skin But Better CC Cream (review). It gives a lighter coverage than with a brush and I love that it has SPF 50 since I’m under the sun more often in the summer. It also doesn’t make my skin look super oily like some other tinted moisturizers tend to do. 3. Next I use the Maybelline Age Rewind Concealer under my eyes, bridge of my nose, Cupid’s bow and chin to highlight and conceal. I’ll also put it around my nose to cover any redness. I blend it in with the Real Techniques Expert Face brush. 4. I set everything with Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powder in Diffused Light with a Hakuhodo brush tapered powder brush.

5 + 6. I’ve been devoted to my Charlotte Tilbury Bronze & Glow Palette (review) since I got it last year. I always go back to this, even after returning to old favorites for a day or two. I use the Real Techniques blush brush for the bronzer and the highlighter brush from the Hakuhodo x Sephora collab (love it btw). 7. I’ve been rotating between the Milani Baked Blush in Luminoso and the MAC Mineralized Blush in Warm Soul (review). I used Luminoso today, applied with the Hakuhodo blush brush.

8 + 9. For my brows, I fill them in with the Anastasia BH Brow Duo (the brush I use is a random no-name) and used the NYX brow gel to comb them into place (a new product I’m trying, so far not bad). 10. My MAC palette has been my eyeshadow BFF lately. I used a MAC 217 brush to sweep Brule all over my lids, then a round crease brush from Hakuhodo to put Wedge into my crease. I added a little bit of Handwritten into the crease with the 217 to deepen it a bit more.

11. I do the usual winged liner with my all-time favorite, the Kat Von D Tattoo Liner in Trooper. 12 + 13. I curl my lashes with the Shiseido lash curler, then apply mascara. I’m trying out a mini of the Urban Decay Perversion at the moment. And no, not impressed enough to get the full size.

14 + 15. Finally, (if you’ve made it this far, thank you!) I lined my lips with the Sonia Kashuk Lip Definer in Maple and used the NYX Intense Butter Gloss in Tres Leches on top (love!). The other combo I’ve been favoring is the Rimmel Exaggerate Liner in Natural and Vegas Volt lipstick from MAC.

The end!

I don’t get too caught up in covering up any blemishes, for regular daytime makeup I don’t feel the need to hide all that. I didn’t even notice the redness on my nose until going back to these photos, a little blemish must’ve popped up overnight!

This is definitely the ‘I got some time to kill’ routine, if I’m rushing I usually just nix the eyeshadow or do a quick sweep of cream shadow before applying mascara. I always do bronzer and blush, but will skip the highlight if necessary. And if I’m so late I should have left an hour ago, I just run some brow gel through my brows, but I prefer to fill them in if I can.

Hope you enjoyed a little peek into my mornings, please share what products are your daily summer must-haves!

16 thoughts on “Summer 2015 Makeup Routine

    • I set my iPhone up on a timer and it takes a series of pictures of which I choose the best (meaning my facial expression doesn’t look insane). And thank you, I’m actually a little surprised by how much use I’ve gotten from that palette!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much! Looking back I wish I’d put a face shot next to each step, but that would have taken forever and been the longest post ever! I thought it would be fun to try something new, I’m glad you liked it!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Your iphone picks are pretty impressive. I like to set my camera to record and then just screenshot what I like best (like you, the pics where my face doesn’t look otherworldly hahahaha). This is such a simple look, but I love it!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: A summer night out makeup routine. | Always, Bree

Leave a Reply

