A summer day to night outfit ft. the boyfriend jean.

Despite the crazy heat, jeans are still a wardrobe staple for me. On Thursdays, I take Ava to music class and I end up doing a lot of chasing her around, getting on all fours, dancing, you get the idea. Skirts and shorts that run the risk of riding up and exposing things I mean to keep covered are just not on the ‘what to wear’ list for the day. And I’m inside anyway so the heat isn’t that much of a bother. I wanted to share another day to night outfit idea with you guys mainly because some of the items are recent purchases that are super affordable.

For day, I threw on an old pair of boyfriend jeans from Arden B., then topped it off with a plain white tee (per usual) tucked in the front. I belted the jeans with a brown belt from Forever 21. I wore flats sandals from Steve Madden (you can read about my summer shoe buys here) that I’ve been wearing almost daily. I recently got this panama hat from Target because my old one got drenched in sunscreen when we were on vacation. I’ve been keeping my eye out for one lately and I’m so glad I found this one because I didn’t want to spend a ton on a new one. Especially considering what happened to the old one. I’m much more diligent about keeping my face shielded from the sun, even if I’m wearing SPF, so I like to have a hat like this that I can pair with lots of different outfits. I do wish the material of the hat was a little sturdier, but at $14.99, I’m not going to complain or cry if something happens to it. I did not carry a purse with me today since I was chucking around the diaper bag, but if I was out sans baby, I’d probably go with my Louis Vuitton Tivoli PM. I’m thinking about getting a shoulder strap for this bag after watching a video from Makeup by Tiffany D, so that I can wear it as a cross body as well.

To transition into night, I changed out of my white tee (I actually could have just stuck with it) and put on this cream colored Forever 21 Buttoned Chiffon Cami that was $14.90. Forever 21 can definitely be touch and go in terms of quality, but I’m actually really happy with this top. It has a layer underneath so it’s not super sheer and I don’t have to worry about wearing another tank underneath. It’s also very flowy and is one of those workhorse pieces that can be dressed up or down and worn with many different options. I want to go in-store and see if I can get the light blue color because it’s sold out online (black is still available). I switched out my sandals for a pair of open-toed heels (old) from Vince Camuto. These were actually a great find at Marshall’s a few years ago. And I traded in the top handle purse for a black envelope clutch from Tory Burch.

Accessories are always an easy way to dress up an outfit to make it more ‘special’ for night, so I added a few things on top of my daily jewelry. I put in some pointed stud earrings (old) from Francesca’s and used one of the necklaces I got in a set from Forever 21 (post about it here) for around $3! I’m actually thinking in buying some that are better quality because I’ve been wearing the heck out of this one lately. Then I added a bolder bracelet from Stella & Dot (old) to my usual David Yurman cable bracelet that I wear always.

And that’s it! I was a little worried that the relaxed fit of the top would be a bit much with the looser boyfriend jeans, but here I liked how it went together. I think adding the heels and wearing a longer necklace helped to elongate the overall look.

What amazing steals have you added to your summer wardrobe?

11 thoughts on “A summer day to night outfit ft. the boyfriend jean.

  1. Love the accessories! I agree, they’re a great way to dress up a simple outfit. 🙂 Forever 21 is my go to place for cheap accessories.
    I really like your hair length / style here! Do you have to curl it or it’s natural?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Mine too! There was this amazing silver bib necklace there awhile back and I’m still kicking myself for not buying it!
      Thank you! I just cut it a couple of weeks ago, it’s one of those asymmetrical long bobs. My hair is naturally annoying, not really wavy or straight. I usually let it air dry, then add some curls in later. I’m planning on doing a post about it since I’m using some new products, hopefully within the next couple of weeks I’ll get it done!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Love this look and how you styled the jeans! I love boyfriend jeans, but I haven’t figured out how to style them for myself yet so I haven’t bought a pair, haha.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

