A summer night out makeup routine.

After doing my summer daytime makeup routine last week, I figured I’d go ahead and do my routine for a night out since we had dinner plans with friends. The main difference is just that I spend more time with my base makeup and trying to make everything more long-lasting. In the summer, I don’t go much heavier with the eye makeup just because by evening it’s still light out and a heavy smoky eye feels like too much on me. This time I did take a few shots to show the progression of the look (although the lighting isn’t great, but I was too lazy to have to remove my camera and take a standing shot in the light).

Here’s what I did.

Prime. When I want my skin to look more flawless, I always reach for my Hourglass Veil Mineral Primer. This stuff is the best, I’d use it every day if it wasn’t so expensive! It really blurs any imperfections, helps my makeup apply more smoothly and last longer.

Foundation. To mimic the natural variations of tone in my skin, I use a lighter foundation towards the center of my face and a darker one around the perimeter. It also makes me feel like I’m making use of my excess of foundations! I’ve been using the L’Oreal Infallible Matte Foundation in the center of my face, which works great because of my oily T-zone. For the rest, I’ve been using the Covergirl Ready, Set Gorgeous! Foundation. I start with the outside, then do the center of my face, blending with a beauty blender.


Conceal
. I apply the Maybelline Age Rewind Concealer in Neutralizer in a triangle shape under my eyes, on the bridge of my nose, center of my forehead, Cupid’s bow, and chin-again blending it all in with the beauty blender to conceal/highlight. For any blemishes, I use an eyeliner brush to apply the Cle de Peau concealer to them, blending with my finger afterwards.

Set. I set the areas where I put concealer with the Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powder in Diffused Light and the remainder of my face lightly with the Chanel Double Perfection Lumiere Powder Foundation.

Contour. I use the Kevyn Aucoin Bronzing Powder to contour my cheekbones, temples, jawline, & nose.

Bronze. I use the bronzer from my Charlotte Tilbury palette to warm up my face more, I use a fluffy brush to apply it more diffusely in the same areas I contour.

Blush. I’m loving Modern Mandarin from MAC lately, patting it on my cheekbones starting near my hairline and moving towards the apples of my cheeks so that I don’t end up with too much product concentrated at the front of my face. Then I buff it in to blend.

Highlight. I got a deluxe sample of the Becca Shimmering Skin Perfector in Opal. I see what all the hype is about, it’s pretty awesome and I’ve been using it a ton since I got it. I apply it just to the high points of my cheeks and down the bridge of my nose, and just a smidge to my Cupid’s bow. I prefer the shimmer only in those areas, letting the concealer I used act as the highlight in the center of my forehead and cheeks.

Brows. I fill them in with the ABH Brow Wiz in Medium Brown, then set them with the ABH Brow Gel in Caramel.

Shadow. I’ve been reaching for my Stila Nouveau Natural Palette a lot more lately. I use the cream colored shade all over the lids and a neutral midtone brown in the crease per usual. I deepened up the outer V with a darker brown, and instead of using tape I just used the end of my foundation tube as a straight edge (got this tip from Carli Bybel) to keep the shadow where I want it. I used Kitten to brighten my inner lid, it’s been my favorite lately when I want to add some shimmer to an eye look.

Line. I use my reliable Kat Von D Tattoo Liner to do the usual winged liner.

Lashes. I somehow forgot to take a picture of this very important step! I use the Covergirl Super Sizer, then layer the Clarins Double-Fix over that for extra insurance from any raccoon eyes.

Lips. I line & fill my lips with the Rimmel Exaggerate Lip Liner in Natural, then applied the NYX High Viltage Lipstick in Sweet 16.

Lock. I use the Urban Decay All-Nighter Setting Spray at the very end to lock it all in. It works amazingly well and definitely prolongs the life of my makeup.

And here’s the aftermath.

I didn’t have time to try to make things look pretty to display what I used, so I figured I’d just keep it real. I promise everything I used is laying on my vanity somewhere! And as always, thanks for stopping by. 🙂

13 thoughts on “A summer night out makeup routine.

    • Hah yah it’s rare that my vanity is ever neat, I can’t even blame having no time anymore it’s true laziness at it’s finest. And thanks as long as I use it with that lip liner it kind of mutes the color a little so it’s more wearable on me.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

