A little Sephora show & tell.


This is by no means a haul or anything, M needed more cologne and I like to rack up points whenever possible. It was a last minute purchase during the whole ‘4x the points’ promotion going on last week. I unfortunately still did not have enough points to get one of the supersize point perks, but I thought I’d share what I threw in for myself and the little extras that came along with our purchase. Of course, I couldn’t wait to tear the package open when it arrived.

I’m running low on my usual Ole Henriksen Grease Relief Tonic and don’t have a backup waiting in the wings. I’d been planning on trying the Pixi toner from Target, but the ones on the shelves at my local stores had the protective plastic seals broken. I’ve been hearing good things about Belif and thought I’d try their Eucalyptus herbal extract toner since so far it seems to have great reviews. Okay there are only 9 so far, but they’re so good I feel like I must try this stuff. I’m waiting to finish up my OH, but I’ll report back on how this works after a couple of weeks.

This order ended up in maintaining my VIB Rouge status til the end of 2016. As a consolation prize, they are giving the Marc Jacobs Le Marc Lip Creme in So Rouge. I swatched what I could down below if you’re curious about it. It definitely glided on easily, it seems to be very creamy and pigmented. The shade is pretty, kind of a berry red, not what I’d usually gravitate towards, but I’ll give it a go. If I’m loving it, the shade is available in full-size to VIB Rouge members.

The 100 point perks I chose include the Boscia Makeup Breakup Cool Cleansing Oil and the Hourglass Immaculate Liquid Powder Foundation in Nude. I’ve really wanted to try this foundation, I’m pretty sure Nude isn’t my shade, but at least I’ll have an idea how the formula performs. I also got the Kat Von D Studded Kiss Lipstick in Lovecraft, a mauve nude, which I’m pretty sure I’m going to like from the swatch. I also got a Buxom eye shadow in Mink Magnet, apparently the brand is adding customizable eye shadow palettes to their line and this is one of the single shadows. And this stuff is buttery. The formula is supposed to be “infused with primer”. It’s also a bronze shimmer which is right up my alley. If this applies and looks as gorgeous as it swatches, I may need to get me some of these. I mean, after I run out of one of the shadows I already have, of course. It takes me forever to run out of an eye shadow (meaning I never have) and I feel like I won’t be buying any new ones for awhile so it’s nice to at least get these little ‘freebies’ to hold me over.


I also got a VIB Rouge appreciation gift bag filled with some pretty good samples. There’s a small tube of Benefit’s Porefessional Primer and two fragrances, Elizabeth & James Nirvana (which I actually like from a quick sniff test) and Chloe (I have a bottle of this, I like it in the fall). They also included a Glam Glow Daily Exfoliating Face Wash, L’Occitane hand cream, MUFE Smoky Extravagant mascara, Kat Von D Tattoo Liner (perfect for travel), and a Sephora Rouge Infusion in Peony (I checked them website and it’s supposed to be a lip stain). I actually think the makeup bag is pretty cute too, and is more compact than the last one I got from them.

And some swatches of the lip products and eye shadow.

I’m excited to test some of these things out tomorrow and report back soon! It’s been hard not shopping for makeup and picking up every new thing, but satisfying at the same time. I never use up anything because I have so much to bounce between its just impossible. I feel like I could actually hit pan on something this year (other than powder foundation). But the little point perks and sample bags make it a little easier to curb my makeup appetite.

Have you tried any of these items yet? Thoughts?

15 thoughts on “A little Sephora show & tell.

  1. I don’t think most people couldn’t get their hands on the Sephora Epic Rewards – it was so poorly run apparently. I’m not even a VIB Rouge! I was close last year but I resisted!
    I’ve had the Boscia cleansing oil irritated my skin due to the menthol. I hope it works for you! I really like the look of that Buxom eyeshadow!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Okay I can’t believe you haven’t hit Rouge, I’m guessing you will after your no-buy is over! Good to know thanks for the heads up on the cleansing oil! And I’ve used the shadow a couple of time and I’m really liking it!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Oh they’re Canadian stores. Our main drugstore has a high end beauty department called Beauty Boutiques (which sells Smashbox, Clarins, Chanel, Guerlain etc) – they offer points with every purchase (makeup and non-makeup) and then you can redeem the points for FREE STUFF. Their top tier is $170 of free stuff but then they have these bonus redemption days where the value goes up to $200. And it really isn’t difficult to rack up the points either since they offer bonus points all the time. It’s way more awesome than Sephora. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Great haul! Lovecraft looks gorgeous! I def want to pick that one up sometime. I got a sample of the Boscia cool cleansing oil with my last order and I can’t wait to try that one out! 🙂 xo

    Liked by 1 person

    • I actually really love it! I’m probably switching over from my Ole Henriksen toner, I feel like I break out less often since using it it. I’m planning a skincare post and will talk more about it soon!

      Like

Leave a Reply

