Hair How-to: Beachy Waves for Short Hair

  
I wrote a previous post about how to get beachy waves when my hair was long, but since getting it cut into a ‘lob’ and changing my products up a bit, I thought I’d go ahead and do another. It’s taken me awhile to get this done because I tend to wash my hair at night and I really hate using artificial light for photos. One day last week, I woke up at 6 AM and just could not get back to sleep, so I worked out then washed my hair-the perfect opportunity to work on this post!

After washing and conditioning my hair, I put in about a pump of the Wen Sweet Almond Mint Styling Crème as a leave-in. I actually do this before I even get out of the shower, but I wasn’t going to take pictures of all that. I keep this right beside all my other hair stuff so I don’t forget about it. I run most of the product towards the middle to ends of my hair, and run whatever’s left closer to the roots.

After I’m done with my post-shower skincare, I run about a quarter sized dollop of the Bumble & Bumble Don’t Blow it (H)air Styler in the same way I apply the Wen Styling Crème. Then I start scrunching my hair to try to coax out some of the natural waves that are there. Which are minimal. My hair is neither straight nor wavy, it’s a weird in-between. If you’re hair is super straight, you might want to try a more heavy duty product to get more wave out of your hair, this stuff probably won’t give you the hold you need. After scrunching, I twist random sections away from my face starting at the front and working my way back. The last picture is how I leave it to air dry, just for reference. While it’s air drying, I do tend to go in again and twist sections if I can.

After it’s fully dried, it ends up looking something like this.

So it’s not super wavy or anything, but it looks WAY better than if I were had left it to it’s own devices while air drying. I’m really liking the Bumble & bumble (H)air Styler and will likely buy the full size when I run out of my travel size. My hair feels nice and soft and it just makes my hair look a little more ‘done’. I do have days when I just leave it like this, it’s pretty much what my hair would actually look like after a day in at the beach.

But, when I want to give it a little extra polish, I go in with a curling wand. (If I washed my hair the night before, I do this step in the next day. It really cuts down on the time it takes to get ready in the morning when I’ve done everything previous before bed.) First, I use the Tresemme Thermal Creations Heat Tamer Leave-In Spray all over my hair. Then I take random sections of hair at the top of my head and curl them away from my face, starting at the front and working my way back. I don’t really try to make this too perfect and I don’t bother with the bottom sections of my hair. The air drying step gives my hair the bit of wave it needs to let the waves I create with the curling wand blend in without having to curl all of my hair. Once I’m happy with the curls, I use my fingers to shake the curls out just at the crown to loosen them up a bit.

I don’t always do this step, but if I want my hair to stay all day, I use the Elnett Satin Hairspray (unscented version) to lock in the curls. My hair holds them pretty well without it though, and this is the type of hairstyle where I want it to be a little messy and ‘effortless’.

And this is the final result! This is pretty how I’ve been styling my hair since I got it cut; it’s especially nice for the summer because I’m not busting out the hair dryer when it’s already 80+ degrees out. By the next day, the waves loosen up even more, but I usually just go back in and re-curl the areas that need it and I’m good to go.

I hope you found this helpful and again, thanks for reading!

15 thoughts on “Hair How-to: Beachy Waves for Short Hair

      • My best friend and I have a theory that shorter hair will make us put effort in effort every day. But since we both joined the navy a tight, low and very neat bun is all we’ve accomplished daily haha.

        Weekends are messy bun weekends.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Pingback: Current favorites: August 2015 | Always, Bree

Leave a Reply

