Food of love: Chicken Afritada

I haven’t done a food post in awhile, these pictures are actually from a few months ago. But since I was actually cooking this for dinner today it reminded me of them and that I really should post it. This is another recipe that reminds me of home, but I didn’t learn it from my dad. I was just craving it one day, found a recipe on Pinterest, and ta-da! Chicken afritada. It’s another one of my favorite Filipino dishes, and it’s actually way easier to make than I thought!

Here’s what you do. I basically followed the recipe from the website to a T. Anything different I’ll mention in the directions.

Chicken Afritada Recipe from Manila Spoon

Ingredients

2.2 lbs / 1 kilo Chicken drumsticks or thighs, skin on (may be seasoned/rubbed with a little salt)
1 Tablespoon Olive Oil
3 strips of Bacon, chopped
3-4 Garlic cloves, crushed
1 medium onion, chopped
3 large Roma or plum tomatoes, chopped
2 Tablespoons, Fish Sauce*
1/4-1/3 cup water
2 dried Bay leaves
1 large Red potato, quartered and then sliced again*
1 large red bell pepper, chopped*
1 large carrot, chopped*
1/3 – 1/2 cup Del Monte Tomato Ketchup (or tomato sauce)
1/2 cup green peas
A little brown sugar

*May be substituted with salt instead though the Fish sauce adds more flavor.

*The vegetables should be relatively the same size (but bigger cut than menudo style).

Directions

1. Dice the onions, tomatoes (all I had were grape tomatoes so I just cut them in half) and garlic (I just used the pre-chopped garlic, about 1/2 TBSP) and set aside.

IMG_9810

2. Cut bacon into 1/4 inch strips and cook over medium heat until crisp. Set aside on paper towels to drain.

IMG_9811

3. Brown chicken thighs (I use 5-6 when I make this) on medium/high heat in the fat rendered from the bacon on all sides. Set aside on a plate.

IMG_9812

4. Reduce the heat to medium and saute the onions and garlic until translucent. Add the tomatoes and sauté until beginning to soften.

IMG_9814

5. Add the water, fish sauce, and bay leaves to the pan, then the chicken thighs. Reduce heat to low and simmer for about 30 minutes.

IMG_9816

6. While the chicken simmers, chop the potatoes, red pepper and carrots into roughly 1″ pieces. After 30 minutes add them to the pot and continue to simmer for 10-15 minutes.

IMG_9817

7. Add the tomato sauce or ketchup (that’s what I used) bacon, and peas, continuing to simmer until the vegetables are tender. I didn’t find the need to use any brown sugar to sweeten it, but you can adjust to your taste.

IMG_9826

8. Serve with white rice and enjoy!

I forgot to take a plated photo, but here’s one of Ava digging in! She’s not an easy one to please, so this recipe is another mommy win and I love that she’s enjoying the foods that I grew up on.

Chicken afritada is an easy recipe that the whole family can enjoy! Definitely give it a try. 🙂

9 thoughts on “Food of love: Chicken Afritada

    • Oh man it’s so good! Lol actually I started working out with her this past week and she’s so into it she makes me pull the mat out and put on the video so she can ‘cise. And then she makes me stand on the mat and do it with her. It’s pretty hilarious except sometimes mommy doesn’t want to exercise!

      Like

Leave a Reply

