Current favorites: August 2015

It’s that time again, and I’m actually a little sad. The summer didn’t really fly by for me, but I’m still sad it’s getting closer to fall. It was actually more on the cool side today, which was a welcome relief from the usual humidity, but it almost felt too fall-like. Then again, fall is my favorite season, I just wish it lasted longer and it never got so cold.

Here’s the beauty stuff that dominated August.

Nars Virtual Domination Palette. I got the this palette awhile ago, and while I liked it, it just never hit heavy rotation. I pulled it out again and started using the Laguna bronzer and Final Cut blush (the matte peachy shade). I’ve been using the bronzer a lot more lately, I think it just looks better on me when I’m tan. And I love a peachy blush in the summer so this palette just worked. You can read my review on it here.

MAC Creme Lipstick in Vegas Volt. I don’t have lip favorites that often because I tend to just jump around a lot, but I have to say I really enjoyed this lipstick in August. I was just craving brighter colors and I always go for lips when I want to do color. And this orangey coral shade was perfect for that.

Becca Shimmering Skin Perfector in Opal. This was a Sephora point perk that I was pretty excited about for obvious reasons. I feel like all makeup lovers have heard about it. I didn’t want to invest in it because I don’t need it, so this was the perfect excuse to get my hands on it. And I’m definitely buying the full size if I ever use it up. It’s a beautiful pale golden shimmer that I can’t stop reaching for.

Stila Nouveau Natural Palette. I’ve noticed that I kind of stick to one palette every month lately, whichever one I’m missing most I attach myself to and this one was it. Mostly because I’ve been obsessed with Kitten on my lids. It just brightens my eyes and makes them seem bigger. All in all, it’s a great mix of neutrals that for me work day to day.

Bobbi Brown Long-Wear Liner in Jet & Nars Larger Than Life Long-Wear Liner in Via Veneto. I grouped these together because they are equally good, gliding on easily and definitely staying put all day. I use them mainly to tighline and I pick whichever one my hand lands on first. I will say that I like that the Nars version is retractable so I don’t need to sharpen it.

Bumble & Bumble Don’t Blow It (H)air Styler. I mentioned this product in my recent beachy waves post. I use it pretty much everytime I wash my hair because I’m just not into blow drying it and having it straight lately. It helps my hair to air dry without looking completely frizzy and crazy, and helps to bring out some of the natural wave it has after some scrunching.

I’m still holding strong with my semi no-buy, but there are so many new releases lately that I’m just dying to try! Has anyone got there hands on the new MUFE Ultra HD Stick Foundation? And Charlotte Tilbury has a LIMITED EDITION Filmstar BronzeΒ & Glow Palette for medium to dark complexions. There’s no way I’m going to run out of a bronzer or highlight ever. What products have you been lusting after lately? Not that I need anymore ideas, but hey, a girl can dream. πŸ™‚

19 thoughts on “Current favorites: August 2015

  1. Ugh, I hear you about all the temptations starting to come out. I have to bury my head in the sand!
    ooh you got that Becca highlighter as a Sephora perk! So jealous. I don’t think I ever saw that available here.
    I vow one day to buy a Nars blush palette – I’m not the biggest fan of their blushes but I figure a palette is the biggest bang for my buck. Great list of favourites! ❀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Okay, I cave. I need to know where you got your white blanket-background-thing! Also (because I’m pretty curious today) what state do you live in that it’s already getting cold!? I guess I’ve been in Florida so long that I’m out of touch with real seasons lol.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hahaha it’s from Ikea! I’m probably going to be using it to death but it’s such an easy background! It was actually a fluke day, it’s been pretty hot & humid here in MA since then. But we’re known for our crazy weather so it could snow next week and I wouldn’t be that surprised!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Ha, that’s funny about your weather! Yess, Ikea! It’s a wonderful background! In fact, my husband has been looking for something similar to do new born photos (he’s an aspiring photographer) and I could have sworn I saw something like that blanket at Ikea! Well, I know what we’re doing this weekend πŸ˜‰ Thanks, lady!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

