Wearing lately & a quick FOTD.


Just wanted to share what I’ve been wearing lately that isn’t so ‘mom’. Because us moms still like to get a little fancy once in awhile too. And by ‘fancy’ I mean anything but jeans and a T-shirt.

On M’s day off, we went into the city for our family day and something about going into town makes me want to look a little nicer. So of course I decide to wear a $17 trapeze dress I got from Forever 21. I belted it with a brown leather Coach belt that I actually thrifted a few years ago. I topped it off with a panama hat from Target and to be honest, I did not wear those platforms from Forever 21. I wanted to, but since I knew we’d be doing a lot of walking around, I ended up changing at the last minute into those Steve Madden ‘Donddi’ flats that I’ve been wearing all summer.

Ava and I went to a baby shower over the weekend and I wore this yellow dress from Forever 21 that I’ve actually had for forever (ha!). I remember when I was younger I used to feel like I needed a new outfit for every party. And when you have a big Filipino family, there are a lot of parties. Nowadays, I’m more practical and I’m not afraid to recycle. This dress was a steal and it’s held up surprisingly well over 5+ years. And the shoes I was really excited to wear, they’re strappy suede slingbacks with pom poms on the front that I got probably at least 8 years ago and have never worn. No joke. I’m not quite sure why these have never seen the light of day, but since they have a lower (3 inch) heel and are a taupey purple shade, they’re neutral enough and comfortable enough to work with the dress and an active toddler. 

For date night last week, I wore a pale pink blouse and navy shorts. I always get cold in restaurants and I thought the light fabric of the top would help me feel a little more covered, but not super hot since the evenings are still quite humid here. Red always feels like a neutral to me and I didn’t feel like wearing heels, so I wore these red pointed toe flats from Zara. A classic black shoulder bag completed the look.

I thought I’d throw this in because I just liked my makeup on baby shower day. Just another one of my usual neutral eye looks. I won’t bore you with the play by play, but I wanted to share what I used, especially since most of it is drugstore. I think my palette of the month is going to be the L’Oreal La Palette Nude 1, if you don’t have a big neutral eye shadow palette yet and you don’t want to spend a ton, I’d recommend this! You can read more about it and see swatches here. Also, the lipstick I wore is MAC Brave.

I hope everyone is making it through the midweek slump! Ava is sick this week and her clingy nature has reached an all time high! Like literally latching onto my leg when I try to walk away. So cute, yet so exhausting!

19 thoughts on “Wearing lately & a quick FOTD.

  1. You always look so put together! I especially love your date-night outfit and I’ll be checking out the Zara website for sure now cause those shoes are awesome! I never thought of red as a neutral but it goes with your outfit flawlessly.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

