The Foundation Edit

This has been a loooong time coming, but I finally bit the bullet and decided to sort through my foundations (and concealers and setting powders) and do a purge. I have issues letting go of things, even makeup so old it’s just not even okay to use anymore. Gross, I know. And although the pile of ‘keepers’ was bigger than the throw always, I have to admit I felt strangely liberated by the process of it. It made me feel like I had the power to let these things go and it just felt good.

I decided not to talk about the items I kept, because I obviously like them and would recommend them. I did want to share to throw always because not everything here is all bad.

Makeup Forever HD Foundation. This was basically way too old to keep and way too dark. I obviously took my tanning very seriously back in the day because I more than than I want to be and this is still too dark. You can see in my keep pile that I have another bottle in my correct shade because I do like this foundation. I think it gives a good medium coverage and photographs well.

Lancôme Teint Idole Ultra 24H. I can’t attest to a full 24 hours, but I did use this foundation on my wedding day. I wore it from 7AM-12PM and it held up amazingly well without many touch ups because I was so crazed that day. It has full coverage and is good for oily/combo skin types. It’s just way past its expiration date so I’m letting it go (I got married 3 years ago, yes, I’m a hoarder). It does have SPF 15, but I had no problem with any white cast.

L’Oreal True Match. A good drugstore foundation that also is just too old to keep. I think the True Match line is awesome, and a great affordable buy. The finish is pretty natural, if you’re oily/combo I’d powder with this one. I found the coverage to be medium.

Maybelline Fit Me Stick Foundation. I liked this for awhile, but it was just okay. I think the shade match was off so I just stopped using it. I didn’t like piling this on so the coverage was on the lighter side for me. I did like it for quick coverage on workdays because I’d just swipe it on and blend it my fingers or a brush.

Covergirl Ready, Set Gorgeous. I actually really like this foundation, but the color is a bit too pink for me. I really wish drugstores had testers! But I have this foundation in my keep pile as well in a better shade (still slightly dark, but workable). It gives medium to full coverage and has a natural finish.

elf High Definition Powder. As you can tell from the packaging, this stuff was just too messy. And I felt like my face looked powdery after using it. Just not a fave and since I haven’t used it in years I just had to get rid of it.

elf Studio High Definition Undereye Setting Powder. I actually reviewed this here. It has some tiny glitter particles that I just wasn’t crazy about so I just never reached for it again after doing the review. If that kind of thing doesn’t bother you, it’s not a bad setting powder for 3 bucks.

Neutrogena Shine Control Powder. This was just another okay product that I just don’t like enough to use and is way past its prime. I think it gave me too much of a powdery look as well, it’s a white setting powder in pressed form. I think that’s why I tend to stay away from any white setting powders, although the white veil doesn’t last forever, I just don’t like the look until it fades.

Maybelline Dream Matte Powder. I used this more as a setting powder than as a powder foundation because the color match was off. I thought it might be a good cheaper alternative to the MUFE Duo Mat, but I just didn’t like it as much.

Cover FX Pressed Mineral Foundation. This I actually like and have repurchased a couple of times. This one was pretty much all used up and I just hadn’t thrown it out yet. The coverage is good and they have a wide shade range.

Maybelline Fit Me Concealer. These are good, just so old I was starting to see some separation in them and thought, it’s time. I do think they’re a good drugstore alternative to the Nars Creamy Concealer, just not quite as pigmented.

MUFE Full Cover Concealer. Another product that I did like, but just kind of got put on the back burner because I’m a serial concealer buyer and I never used it up. It’s also just too old to keep using.

Eve Pearl Salmon Concealer. I got this on Haute Look and it ended up being too dark for me. It was also almost too creamy for me and I would end up with a lot of mascara smudging when I’d wear it.

MAC Studio Finish Concealer. This stuff was just felt too heavy for my undereye area and tended to settle in my fine lines. The MUA recommended it in NW 25 to help to counteract undereye darkness, but then when I didn’t like it for that purpose I couldn’t even use it to cover blemishes. Oh well. It’s also pretty old, I really should not have held onto it for so long. I’d love to try their Pro Longwear Concealer at some point.

I hope everyone is enjoying their Labor Day weekend! I’d meant to get this up on Sunday, but we’ve had a busy last couple of days. M wanted to have a BBQ last night so we had everyone over last minute, but it was a great time! Ava got to play with her friends and we don’t get to see our friends as often as we used to, so all in all it was a good night. But I couldn’t sleep this morning, so I figured I’d wrap up this post and get it up early. Hope it’s helpful!

6 thoughts on “The Foundation Edit

  1. I think your throwaway pile is all the foundations I have with the concealers total lol. But it’s great that you were still able to let go of them. I found that as a makeup addict, letting go of makeup is hardest thing to do. Would you still repurchase any of these? Maybe some that were the wrong color for you?

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’d repurchase the Teint Idole for sure, if I really needed a long-wear foundation for some reason, maybe when my cousin gets married next year. I’m a bridesmaid so I’ll be wearing it all day. But honestly, there are so many new foundations I want to try I might try something different!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m doing mega decluttering too – it’s so tough to let things go! But yeah, sometimes I keep and use things that are old too… I mean, they haven’t turned or smell bad so it’s fine really.
    I’m still curious to get L’Oreal True Match – I think I’d like it.
    Just a warning, the MAC Pro Longwear Concealer comes in the most annoying container known to mankind. It’s a pump dispenser that is difficult to control – so way more product comes out than is needed. So annoying.
    Great job with the purge! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. WOW, you have a lot of foundation! I bet you feel so good having purged 🙂 BTW, I’ve heard they no longer put the glitter particles in the little elf under eye powder so it may be worth picking it up again if that’s the only reason you didn’t like it 🙂 This was such a fun post!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

