Current favorites: September 2015

I almost skipped posting all together this week, I had all my photos ready, but not much time to write. But I just couldn’t let a whole week go by without at least one post, so I’m squeezing this in before I go to sleep tonight. We had a great weekend-I took Ava to a first birthday party on Saturday, and on Sunday we brought her to a local amusement park. Later that night we got to see one of my best friends (also Ava’s godmother) who moved out of state, but came home for a few days. It was so cute, Ava usually doesn’t take to people she doesn’t know well, but she immediately grabbed her ninang’s hand and started leading her all over the house. I was so surprised! It always makes me happy when I see her being friendly with other people she doesn’t see so often.

Anyway, on to the faves.

L’Oreal La Palette Nude 1. This palette is just so good for everyday makeup looks, you really have everything you need here. Although it’s not super unique, it is versatile, whether you just want a quick wash of color over your lids or a brown smokey eye. I’ll link my review here if you’re interested.

Chanel Bronze Universal. I almost forgot about this stuff and I’m not sure why I hadn’t used it more often. I finally started using it this month and I wish I had more at the start of the summer. I remember this was a highly talked about product in the YouTube beauty world, and man, it wasn’t easy to get my hands on. I remember asking about it everytime I passed a Chanel counter and it always being out of stock. It’s a cream bronzer that dries down to a powder finish and it really does give a beautiful warmth to the skin. I really like applying it with the Real Techniques blush brush.

Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powder in Diffused Light. This is definitely going to be a must-have for me, it’s the best powder I’ve used for setting my under eye concealer. It’s brightening, doesn’t make my skin look look dry, and it’s so fine it doesn’t look heavy. All around love. It also works for setting my whole face if necessary so it makes a good travel companion too. Also reviewed here.

Chanel Perfection Lumiere Foundation Powder. I’ve been sticking to powder foundation most days this month and the more I use this, the more I like it. I did review it here. It gives a good medium coverage and it doesn’t look overly powdery. And it wears well when I set it with the Urban Decay All-Nighter makeup setting spray. I still want to try the It Cosmetics powder foundation, but if that’s a bust, I’d go back to this.

And for non-beauty faves:

I’ve been wearing more silver lately, I’ll share more on why in another post, but this bow necklace from Dogeared and these stud earrings from Anjolee have been go-to’s. The necklace is easy to layer with and earrings pair with pretty much everything I wear. They were given to me by Anjolee for review, which you can read more about here.

I’m excited for October to get here, we’re apple picking next weekend (Ava’s first time) and I can’t wait for Halloween! We have a coordinated family costume this year that I got last week, and Ava looks SO CUTE. I’ll definitely be sharing pics. We’re also hosting her little friends that night for pizza and trick-or-treating in our neighborhood so it will be some major cuteness overload at our house that night. 🙂

What are you looking forward to in October?

P.S. I’m already late on my blog posting schedule, I totally forgot to schedule this for 9 AM. Oh well.

*The earrings mentioned in this post were given to me by Anjolee for review, as always, all thoughts and opinions shared here are my own.

8 thoughts on “Current favorites: September 2015

  1. Aw Ava is so sweet, I’m sure her godmother felt very special to be so well received by a toddler – kids just KNOW.
    I’m going to have to test Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powder in Diffused Light at the store. I had my mind set on the Dim Light but then someone mentioned that it might be too dark for my skin tone, maybe Diffused Light would work better for me. Regardless, ONE of those colours is coming home with me in the new year! 😀
    Coordinated family Halloween costumes? Oh you guys! So cheesy yet cute. 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh yes, the cheese factor is super strong this year. Amazing how kids bring that out in you. I already want matching pjs for us to wear Christmas morning! I think diffused is a bit more versatile since you can use it all over, I only use dim to set the foundation everywhere else. I think it has more of a blurring effect than a brightening one.

      Like

Leave a Reply

