Review x 2: MAC Matte Lipstick in Whirl + Kat Von D Studded Kiss Lipstick in Lovecraft

I’d gotten the Kat Von D Studded Kiss Lipstick in Lovecraft as a sample a couple of months ago and fell in love. So when I went to Sephora to pick up a new blender cleanser solid, I couldn’t resist picking it up in the the full-size. I started swatching some of the other lipsticks that caught my eye and ended up falling in love with Cathedral, which is described as a ‘matte coco rose’. Unfortunately it was out of stock in store and online. I was so obsessed with the color that I kept the swatch on my forearm and walked over to my nearest MAC counter to look for a dupe. Which is how I found their matte lipstick in Whirl and ended up taking that home too.

I’m not going to do my usual more formal rated review of these lipsticks. I’ll just say right now I’m a fan of both and if you like these kinds of colors then I fully recommended them. Since I’m talking about both I didn’t want to make this too complicated.

The packaging I like on both of these, although the KVD is slightly bulkier because of the ‘studded’ look of the tube. Nothing crazy though. MAC is always classic with its smooth black matte bullet.

I do give KVD brownie points for the extra details of her initials in raised lettering on top of the cap and imprinted into the actual lipstick.

Since Lovecraft is the original reason for this post I’ll start with it. It’s described as a ‘pink mauve nude’ and it’s exactly that. It’s such a beautiful nude for fall, it has kind of a cooler, dusty rose feel to it. Whirl is described as a ‘dirty rose’, it has a lot more brown to it with a little mauve. Although both are a matte finish, neither are too drying on the lips. You still want to put on a lip balm before applying. I think the KVD is slightly less drying. They both have great color payoff and wear well even with eating and drinking. They fade pretty evenly an despite some transfer I don’t feel the need to reapply right away.

I’ve worn them both already and am loving them so far. Most days I’m wearing Lovecraft because it’s just an easy wearable color with good lasting power. If I feel like something darker, I go for Whirl. It definitely gives me the 90’s feels, so if you’re into that you need to pick this up.


I wore Whirl on a night out for a friend’s big 30th birthday celebration with a dark red liner underneath to give it a more brick red look and really liked the effect. Sorry for the lighting, I didn’t get to take the picture until late, but you get the idea. 

It was a fun ‘prom’ themed party, so of course we took had to take a picture in the typical prom pose.

She even had a photobooth, which we took full advantage of. Okay, by ‘we’ I mean me. M humored my relentless hounding to jump in there. Oh yah, this is M by the way. I’m pretty sure I’ve really had him in a post.

It was fun getting all dressed up for a night, since those opportunities are fewer and far between these days. We were up waaay later than usual, but it was so much fun to celebrate our friend and spend time with everyone all at once.

What new fall lipsticks have you picked up recently?

22 thoughts on “Review x 2: MAC Matte Lipstick in Whirl + Kat Von D Studded Kiss Lipstick in Lovecraft

  1. So you just proved that Sephora’s sampling program works since you wanted to get the full size of the KVD!
    So you didn’t find a dupe for Lovecraft at MAC? I think it looks similar to Twig.
    Aww that’s your hubby?! I’ve never seen him before. You two are too cute! 😀 I love your outfit at the party!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I guess it does, although there are only a handful of products that I’ve gone on to buy after trying the sample! Nope, the SA thought Viva Glam 3, but it wasn’t quite right. But still a great color too! She also also swatched Whirl on me and I just had to have it even though it’s really not the same either. I’ll have to check out Twig. Yup that’s hubs! And thank you it was fun getting all dressed up!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. DAMN! I saw you Stash Matters site, so I always like to sort of follow and connect with the ladies in the group of bloggers I follow. And now I’ve made the horrible mistake of looking at this Kat Von D shade and I want it so bad my heart is racing. This is the sign of a true addict, I guess. Thank god it’s just lipstick. LOL (I’m Janine BTW, nice to meet you!)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Current favorites: October 2015 | Always, Bree

  4. Pingback: Review x 2: Kat Von D Studded Kiss Lipstick in Cathedral & Everlasting Liquid Lipstick in Lolita | Always, Bree

Leave a Reply

